Pat Metheny Group – Travels (1983) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/96kHz

Pat Metheny Group – Travels (1983) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | 2x SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 96:34 minutes | Scans included | 3,96 GB
or FLAC Stereo(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 2,18 GB

Travels is the Pat Metheny Group’s first live album, released in 1983. It won the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Fusion Performance. Travels was recorded as part of the tour for the Group’s studio album, Offramp, but also featured previously unrecorded and unreleased songs. The album consists of live material recorded in July, October, and November 1982, in Philadelphia, Dallas, Sacramento (California), Hartford (Connecticut), and Nacogdoches (Texas). The Group for this album consisted of Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Steve Rodby, Dan Gottlieb, and Nana Vasconcelos as special guest.

Now well into its gliding Brazilian-tinged mode, the Pat Metheny Group hits the road, as this two-CD set catches the band live in Dallas, Philadelphia, Hartford, Sacramento, and Nacogdoches, TX. Percussionist Naná Vasconcelos is still listed as a “special guest,” but ever since Wichita Falls, he had not only been a part of the group, he was the transforming element in the Metheny “sound,” adding his various shakers, effects and ethereal vocals. Sidekick Lyle Mays gets deeper into floating, glistening synthesizer textures, but he is still able to take formidable and touching solos on acoustic grand piano. Still experimenting with new hardware, Metheny’s work on a detuned guitar synthesizer gives the live “As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls” an exotic Balinese-like sound. Other highlights are the hard Brazilian grooves on “Straight On Red” and “Song for Bilbao,” as well as the trademark Metheny glide of “Are You Going With Me?” – and the brief title track has a winning, guileless simplicity much like that of Keith Jarrett in a prayerful mood. If you liked the popular Offramp, you’ll fall for Travels, too, but get the former album first.


01. Are You Going With Me?
02. The Fields, The Sky
03. Goodbye
04. Phase Dance
05. Straight On Red
06. Farmer’s Trust
07. Extradition
08. Goin’ Ahead / As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls
09. Travels
10. Song For Bilbao
11. San Lorenzo

Pat Metheny – guitars, guitar synthesizer
Lyle Mays – piano, synthesizers, organ, autoharp, synclavier
Steve Rodby – acoustic & electric bass, bass synthesizer
Dan Gottlieb – drums
+ Nana Vasconcelos – percussion, vocals, berimbau

Produced by Pat Metheny & Manfred Eicher. Engineered by Randy Ezratty. Mixed by Jan Erik Kongshaug.
Recorded live in concerts in the U.S.A., on July, October & November 1982.

This Japanese SACD released in Japan on September 12, 2018. Tower Records Japan Inc. # PROZ-1113/14
The image ripped direct and unretouched using an Oppo BDP-105D, Sonore ISO2DSD, and sacd_extract.



FLAC 24bit/96kHz