Paris Combo – Quesaco? (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paris Combo – Quesaco? (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:53 minutes | 912 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Six Degrees Records, LLC

Almost two years have passed since fans of Paris Combo were stunned to learn of the sudden death of the group’s singer/songwriter Belle du Berry, who died on August 11, 2020, aged just 54, following a brief battle with cancer. Her passing was a tragic loss for all those touched by her charismatic presence as a performer and songwriter during a career spanning 30 years and over a hundred songs.

The beating heart of the group, Belle had been the unforgettable voice of the band’s elegantly intoxicating and joyful take on the world, her quirky, wise and often humorous songs providing a welcome antidote to the stresses and strains of everyday life.

For the legions of mourning fans worldwide, who until now were reluctantly resigned to forever consoling themselves with the band’s nevertheless impressive back catalogue of eight albums, an unexpected and exciting parting gift has arrived in the form of a new Paris Combo release, Quesaco? Completed just before Belle died, the new album is now being released worldwide on the U.S. label Six Degrees Records.

Twenty-five years have passed since the band was founded, but it’s clear from listening to the 11 songs on the new album that Paris Combo have lost none of their magic. Quintessentially Parisian, yet timeless and international with a deceptively light touch, their music weaves together elements of Django Reinhardt-inspired gypsy jazz and Latin music, as well as cinematic and various exotic influences, and is a testament to the group’s long journey together.

Four years after their last album Tako Tsubo, Belle and the group’s core members, David Lewis on piano and trumpet, Potzi on guitar and François Jeannin on drums, are joined by Benoît Dunoyer de Segonzac on bass and Rémy Kaprielan on percussion and vocals. Right from the outset we recognize Belle’s whimsical take on life in the title she chose for the new album — Quesaco?, a generations-old Provençal expression, meaning “What is it?,” that lends a charming, old-world nuance to her questions about the mystery of existence.

It took Belle’s talent as a poet of the everyday to think of using the computer’s keyboard space-bar as a metaphor for all that’s missing in our lives. It took her keen eye and her joyful heart to capture the simple splendor of a couple’s stroll along the banks of the Seine. It took her playful imagination to visualize a “pole-dance” between the North Pole and the South Pole. And Belle knew how to shift the familiar and lend to it an air of mystery.

1. Paris Combo – Quesaco? (04:52)
2. Paris Combo – Barre espace (03:49)
3. Paris Combo – Seine de la vie parisienne (03:52)
4. Paris Combo – Panic à bord (04:15)
5. Paris Combo – Maudit money (03:45)
6. Paris Combo – Première guerre (04:28)
7. Paris Combo – Axe imaginaire (03:21)
8. Paris Combo – Cap ou pas cap (03:37)
9. Paris Combo – Tendre émoi (04:21)
10. Paris Combo – Do you think (04:17)
11. Paris Combo – Paresser par ici (03:11)


Please enter the code below to access the content.