Oregon – Beyond Words (1995) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz

Oregon – Beyond Words (1995) [Reissue 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 71:46 minutes | Scans included | 3,94 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/44,1 kHz | Scans included | 698 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Chesky Records # SACD 252

Oregon emerged in 1970 as a splinter band from the Paul Winter Consort. Its members each had experience in jazz, classical, and a variety of non-western musical styles, and were also multi-instrumentalists.

With its combination of simple beauty and elegant intricacy, Oregon’s Beyond Words truly is. This time out, the three surviving original members of Oregon perform as a drummerless trio, handling a variety of compositions old and new, primarily from the pen of Ralph Towner. Towner’s multi-instrumental versatility highlights and undergirds the proceedings, with his beautiful classical and 12-string guitar work especially satisfying. Paul McCandless delivers his usual flawless performance on an amazing variety of woodwinds. The interplay between his bass clarinet and Glen Moore’s restored 1715 Klotz bass is superb on “Pepé Linque” and “Sicilian Walk.” Towner’s classic “The Silence of a Candle,” first recorded on the landmark Icarus with the Paul Winter Consort, is reprised here, as are several other Oregon standards, including “Witchi-Tai-To.” The only weak moments come in the set-closing “Silver Suite,” which meanders aimlessly at times. Other than that, this is an album filled with gorgeous, multi-dimensional music played by a trio of inspired virtuosos.

01. Rewind
02. Ecotopia
03. Green and Golden
04. Pepe Linque
05. Les Douzilles
06. The Silence of A Candle
07. Sicilian Walk
08. Leather Cats
09. Witchi-Tai-to
10. Silver Suite-I
11. Silver Suite-II
12. Silver Suite-III

Ralph Towner – classical (1,3,5) & 12-string (7,9) guitars, synthesizer (2,4,8-12), piano (2,4,6,8-12)
Paul McCandless – oboe (3,5,10-12), English horn (6,9), bass clarinet (4,7,10-12), soprano (1,2,8) & sopranino (2,4,9-12) saxes, penny whistle (9-12)
Glen Moore – double bass

Recorded on March 20-23, 1995 at St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, NYC.



FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz