Omer Klein – Personal Belongings (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Omer Klein – Personal Belongings (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 46:16 minutes | 854 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © WM Germany

Like so many others, Omer Klein has been brought to a stop by the pandemic. Tours cancelled and forced into introspection, the Frankfurt-based Israeli jazz pianist has taken the opportunity to give birth to Personal Belongings, a much more intimate album than we are used to from him. Ten compositions reflecting his point of view as a man, pianist, composer, band leader, family man and multicultural artist. Ten voyages between solitude and the need to find himself, six of the ten themes are performed solo, the other four in a trio with Haggai Cohen Milo on double bass and Amir Bresler on drums. Contemplative sequences and the energy of the trio follow one another with great fluidity. A singular vibration that we feel in the sequence Kavana and Baghdad Blues, which meld the romanticism of the Middle East with jazz improvisations. Blending Brazil with Brahms, The Magnets is a feverish love song through to its astonishing pastoral finale. This track-like the lyrical Sun Girl-is inspired by the relationship between Omer Klein and his girlfriend. The Flower and the Seed is itself dedicated to his children. And then there is liberty, links between peoples, countries, customs and languages. All play a key role in this lovable ensemble. Finally, Personal Belongings closes on a note full of hope, thanks to a short, most intimate re-interpretation of the standard What a Wonderful World. – Max Dembo

1. Kavana (02:13)
2. Baghdad Blues (05:00)
3. The Magnets (05:30)
4. The Flower and the Seed (05:14)
5. Good Hands (05:43)
6. Sun Girl (04:38)
7. Quarantined with You (04:12)
8. Shake It (06:47)
9. Najara (04:14)
10. What a Wonderful World (02:45)