Oingo Boingo – Nothing To Fear (1982/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Oingo Boingo – Nothing To Fear (1982/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 41:25 minutes | 1,67 GB | Genre: New Wave, Art Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © A&M

Though Nothing to Fear is by no means Oingo Boingo’s best album, it is certainly not as bad as many near-sighted critics have asserted. Elfman’s songwriting, even when he’s not firing on all cylinders, still blows the hinges off most of his peers on their best days. It is true that many songs on this go-around lack the smooth transitions that characterize Only a Lad, but the intricately woven, complex song structures do well to sustain Elfman’s erratic mood swings. The album begins strongly, with Boingo’s trademark bells and synth on “Grey Matter” and then switches gears with an abrupt slap-bass progression on “Insects.” “Private Life” brings it all together, oozing forth elaborate instrumentation and rich songwriting. If you can humor Elfman when he gets too excited by his own proselytizing with songs like “Nothing to Fear (But Fear Itself,” and you give the album a few listens, you’ll recognize it’s a vastly underrated sophomore effort.


01. Grey Matter
02. Insects
03. Private Life
04. Wild Sex (In The Working Class)
05. Running On A Treadmill
06. Whole Day Off
07. Nothing to Fear (But Fear Itself)
08. Why’d We Come
09. Islands
10. Reptiles and Samurai