Nina Simone – Wild Is The Wind (1966/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nina Simone – Wild Is The Wind (1966/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:38 minutes | 1.65 GB | Genre: Jazz, Blues
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Verve Records
Recorded: March and April 1964 and January, October, November 1965 in New York.

Wild Is the Wind is Nina Simone’s sixth album with the Philips record label and was produced by Hal Mooney. The songs are actually a compilation from a number of different recording sessions for other albums released on Philips. Notable tracks on the album include “Break Down and Let It All Out” and “Four Women.”

Nina Simone recorded the title track, originally popularized by Johnny Mathis, twice: it appears on her 1959 live album and again on this 1966 release. David Bowie’s mid-1970s cover version was inspired by the rendition on this album and was recorded after Bowie met Simone. Also includes one of Simone’s signature tunes, the stereotype-fighting Four Women, her only original number on this album. An anthem for the Civil Rights movement, the single was banned upon release by a New York jazz radio station due to what was considered controversial lyrical content at the time.

This album was apparently a bit of a pastiche of leftovers from sessions for Nina Simone’s four previous albums on Philips. But you’d never guess from listening; the material is certainly as strong and consistent as it is on her other mid-’60s LPs. As is the case with most of her albums of the time, the selections are almost unnervingly diverse, ranging from jazz ballads to traditional folk tunes (“Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair”) to the near calypso of “Why Keep on Breaking My Heart” to the somber, almost chilling title track. Highlights are two outstanding pop-soul numbers written by the pre-disco Van McCoy (“Either Way I Lose,” “Break Down and Let It All Out”) and “Four Women,” a string of searing vignettes about the hardships of four African-American women that ranks as one of Simone’s finest compositions. -Richie Unterberger

1. I Love Your Lovin’ Ways 02:39
2. Four Women 04:28
3. What More Can I Say? 02:52
4. Lilac Wine 04:18
5. That’s All I Ask 02:33
6. Break Down And Let It All Out 02:41
7. Why Keep On Breaking My Heart 02:37
8. Wild Is The Wind (Live In New York, 1964) 07:00
9. Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair (Live In New York, 1964) 03:28
10. If I Should Lose You 04:00
11. Either Way I Lose 02:45

Nina Simone, vocals, piano
Rudy Stevenson, guitar, flute
Lisle Atkinson, upright bass
Bobby Hamilton, drums
Horace Ott & His Orchestra