Nina Simone – Nina Simone Sings Ellington (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nina Simone – Nina Simone Sings Ellington (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 32:30 minutes | 342 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Nina Simone Sings Ellington is an album by American singer and pianist Nina Simone. The album contains songs that were originally composed and recorded by Duke Ellington. Simone is complemented by the Malcolm Dodds Singers.

The cover photo features just Nina Simone’s head in full colour. Nina says about this picture in her autobiography I Put A Spell On You (1992) that the picture was originally a full size picture of Simone’s body. However, because Nina was pregnant with her daughter Lisa at that time, the photographer tried various positions to hide Nina’s stomach. He failed in this most probably, and that is why just Simone’s head was used out of the full picture.

A leftover shot of Nina from this session, featuring a pose from her chest up, was later used on her 1966 album, Nina Simone with Strings.


01 – Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me 02:50
02 – I Got It Bad 04:07
03 – Hey, Buddy Bolden 02:27
04 – Merry Mending 02:36
05 – Something To Live For 02:56
06 – You Better Know It 02:25
07 – I Like The Sunrise 03:01
08 – Solitude 03:46
09 – The Gal From Joe’s 02:12
10 – Satin Doll 03:37
11 – It Don’t Mean A Thing 02:33