Nina Simone – I Put A Spell On You (1965/2013) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nina Simone – I Put A Spell On You (1965/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:24 minutes | 1,49 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic | © Verve Music

One of Nina Simone’s classics from her days at Philips, this 1965 album includes three songs that have come to be closely identified with her: Ne me quitte pas by Jacques Brel, Feeling Good and the title track, a cover of the Screamin’ Jay Hawkins song, which became a successful R&B single for her. In fact Simone was so closely associated with the song she chose to use the same title for her 1990 autobiography.

One of her most pop-oriented albums, but also one of her best and most consistent. Most of the songs feature dramatic, swinging large-band orchestration, with the accent on the brass and strings. Simone didn’t write any of the material, turning to popular European songsmiths Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, and Anthony Newley, as well as her husband, Andy Stroud, and her guitarist, Rudy Stevenson, for bluesier fare. Really fine tunes and interpretations, on which Simone gives an edge to the potentially fey pop songs, taking a sudden (but not uncharacteristic) break for a straight jazz instrumental with “Blues on Purpose.” The title track, a jazzy string ballad version of the Screamin’ Jay Hawkins classic, gave the Beatles the inspiration for the phrasing on the bridge of “Michelle”.

01 – I Put A Spell On You
02 – Tomorrow Is My Turn
03 – Ne Me Quitte Pas
04 – Marriage Is For Old Folks
05 – July Tree
06 – Gimme Some
07 – Feeling Good
08 – One September Day
09 – Blues On Purpose
10 – Beautiful Land
11 – You’ve Got To Learn
12 – Take Care Of Business