Night Crickets – A Free Society (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Night Crickets – A Free Society (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:40 minutes | 824 MB | Genre: Alternative Rock, Post-Punk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Omnivore Recordings

Debut release from David J (Bauhaus, Love And Rockets), Victor DeLorenzo (Violent Femmes) and multi-instrumentalist Darwin Meiners.

Iconic and foundational bands in the history of alternative music certainly include Bauhaus, Love And Rockets, and Violent Femmes. San Francisco born artist Darwin Meiners was a fan of all three. A chance meeting 13 years ago with David J (Bauhaus, Love & Rockets) grew into a friendship, and Darwin not only became a bandmate, but David J’s manager. After reaching out to Victor DeLorenzo through e-mail, Darwin met the Violent Femmes drummer after the Femmes’ Coachella set in 2013. Soon after the three collaborated on Darwin’s 2014 release Souvenir. As the pandemic took hold, Darwin was looking for a new project to occupy the lock-down time and approached Victor, who was keen to proceed and suggested that David join as well. The musical trust established between these three was immediate and Night Crickets were born. Within weeks a global process was initiated between them, the recordings eventually forming the album, A Free Society.

To say this is something of a dream come true for music fans would be entirely accurate. (The band’s name came from one of many Zoom meetings between the three members. After addressing various pressing musical issues the conversation rambled somewhat and turned to the subject of David Lynch, with David J telling an anecdote which was told to him by Lynch’s sound designer, John Neff. Lynch had asked Neff to obtain a field recording of crickets chirping at night for inclusion in Mulholland Drive. When Neff played him the tape, the director immediately recognized the sound that the insects make when it is light which is apparently a little different to their nocturnal chirp. “No! No! No! These are day crickets, John! I want my night crickets!” Victor, Darwin, and David then shared a look of mutual realization and instantly agreed that the project now had a name!) In Night Crickets’ own words.

01. Night Crickets – Black Leather on the Inside (03:46)
02. Night Crickets – Candlestick Park (04:21)
03. Night Crickets – Amanda’s Mantra (02:11)
04. Night Crickets – A Free Society (04:01)
05. Night Crickets – Roman À Clef (03:16)
06. Night Crickets – Soul Wave (03:52)
07. Night Crickets – Little Did I (02:13)
08. Night Crickets – Sloe Song (02:06)
09. Night Crickets – The Unreliable Narrator (03:07)
10. Night Crickets – Down Below (02:07)
11. Night Crickets – Return To The Garden Of Allah (02:46)
12. Night Crickets – Sacred Monster (02:56)
13. Night Crickets – I Want My Night Crickets! (03:54)


Please enter the code below to access the content.