Nickelback – All The Right Reasons (15th Anniversary Expanded Edition) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nickelback – All The Right Reasons (15th Anniversary Expanded Edition) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:50:56 minutes | 709 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rhino

‘All the Right Reasons’ has sold more than 19 million copies worldwide and was a number 1 album in multiple countries. The record produced seven singles, including: ‘Photograph’ and ‘Rockstar’. The album was remastered for this anniversary edition, along with a selection of B-sides that includes a cover of Queen’s ‘We Will Rock You’, and acoustic versions of the singles ‘Photograph’, ‘Too Bad’ and ‘Someday’. The collection also features a live recording of Nickelback’s August 8, 2006 performance in Sturgis, ND during the annual Sturgis Bike Rally. The 12-song performance was originally released on DVD as ‘Live at Sturgis 2006’.

With their fourth album, All the Right Reasons, Nickelback ditch any pretense of being a grunge band and finally acknowledge they’re a straight-up heavy rock band. Not that they’ve left the angst of grunge behind: they’re a modern rock band living in a post-grunge world, so there are lots of tortured emotions threaded throughout the 11 songs here. But where their previous albums roiled with anger — their breakthrough “How You Remind Me” was not affectionate, it was snide and cynical — there’s a surprisingly large sentimental streak running throughout All the Right Reasons, and it’s not just limited to heart-on-sleeve power ballads like “Far Away” and “Savin’ Me,” the latter being the latest entry in their soundalike sweepstakes. No, lead singer/songwriter Chad Kroeger is in a particularly pensive mood here, looking back fondly at his crazy times in high school on “Photograph” (“Look at this photograph/Every time I do it makes me laugh/How did our eyes get so red?/And what the hell is on Joey’s head?”), lamenting the murder of Dimebag Darrell on “Side of a Bullet” (where a Dimebag solo is overdubbed), and, most touching of all, imagining “the day when nobody died” on “If Everyone Cared” (which would be brought about “If everyone cared and nobody cried/If everyone loved and nobody lied”). Appropriately enough for an album that finds Kroeger’s emotional palette opening up, Nickelback try a few new things here, adding more pianos, keyboards, and acoustic guitars to not just their ballads, but a few of their big, anthemic rockers; they even sound a little bit light and limber on “Someone That You’re With,” the fastest tune here and a bit of relief after all the heavy guitars. All this makes for a more varied Nickelback album, but it doesn’t really change their essence. Sure, they stretch a little bit, but they still favor clumsy, plodding riffs, still incessantly rewrite the same chords and melody, still harmonize exactly the same way on every song, Kroeger still sounds as if he’s singing with a hernia, he still writes shockingly stupid lines that make you long for the days of such subtle double-entendres as “she’s using her head again” (such as “She’d be pissed if she could see the parts of you that I’ve been kissing,” “It’s just a little hard to leave/When you’re going down on me” — and, mind you, this album does not carry a Parental Advisory sticker, even though “a**holes” is prominently used in two songs), and despite the attempted sarcasm of “Rockstar,” he still shows no discernible sense of humor. Which means, despite all their newly developed relative nuances, Nickelback remain unchanged: they’re still unspeakably awful. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. Nickelback – Follow You Home (2020 Remaster)
2. Nickelback – Fight For All The Wrong Reasons (2020 Remaster)
3. Nickelback – Photograph (2020 Remaster)
4. Nickelback – Animals (2020 Remaster)
5. Nickelback – Savin’ Me (2020 Remaster)
6. Nickelback – Far Away (2020 Remaster)
7. Nickelback – Next Contestant (2020 Remaster)
8. Nickelback – Side Of A Bullet (2020 Remaster)
9. Nickelback – If Everyone Cared (2020 Remaster)
10. Nickelback – Someone That You’re With (2020 Remaster)
11. Nickelback – Rockstar (2020 Remaster)
12. Nickelback – We Will Rock You (2020 Remaster)
13. Nickelback – Photograph (Acoustic) [2020 Remaster]
14. Nickelback – Too Bad (Acoustic) [2020 Remaster]
15. Nickelback – Someday (Live Acoustic) [2020 Remaster]
16. Nickelback – Intro/Animals (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
17. Nickelback – Woke Up This Morning (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
18. Nickelback – Photograph (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
19. Nickelback – Because Of You (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
20. Nickelback – Far Away (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
21. Nickelback – Never Again (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
22. Nickelback – Savin’ Me (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)
23. Nickelback – Someday (Live at Buffalo Chip, Sturgis, SD, 8/8/2006)