Nick Mulvey – Wake Up Now (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Nick Mulvey – Wake Up Now (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 51:20 minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Fiction

In 2014, Nick Mulvey launched his career with the album First Mind, after having dazzled as a part of the Portico Quartet, a bizarre jazz formation which was showered with awards between 2008 and 2014. This opus gave us a look at a fairly gifted songwriter, whose heart seems to hold a special place for folk. But this was a very singular folk, like that concocted by John Martyn or Nick Drake many years ago. And it was hardly a normal pop music – minimalist and repetitive (Glass?), sometimes risking bifurcations which are a long way from Western music (Mulvey studied music in Havana for a long time). The result was pretty bewildering, stunning and simply good… Three years later, we find a Nick Mulvey once again hungry for a diversity of sound. We traverse this Wake Up Now as if we were flicking through an atlas. The Latin American and African influences are never overpowering, but rather they subtly destabilise the structures of these compositions, be they pop or folk. They make a colourful fuel for these songs that deal with the refugee crisis as well as the simple joy of life.

01 – Unconditional
02 – Transform Your Game (We Remain)
03 – Imogen
04 – Myela
05 – We Are Never Apart
06 – Remembering
07 – Mountain To Move
08 – When The Body Is Gone
09 – Lullaby
10 – In Your Hands
11 – Infinite Trees