New York Polyphony – Roma Aeterna (2016) [eClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

New York Polyphony – Roma Aeterna: two Roman masses (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:12:07 minutes | 1,32 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: eClassical | Digital Booklet | © BIS Records
Recorded: August 2015 at St Cecilia Cathedral, Omaha, USA

The widely acclaimed vocal ensemble New York Polyphony has on its previous recordings for BIS focussed on Franco-Flemish polyphony (endBeginning, BIS-1949), the English Renaissance (Times go by Turns, BIS-2037) and Christmas (Sing thee Nowell, BIS-2099). Each of these discs – which have been highly praised by the critics, receiving no less than two Grammy Award nominations – has also included contemporary works, resulting in striking resonances between music from across more than half a millennium. With their new album, Roma aeterna, the ensemble follow the example of so many musicians before them and go on a pilgrimage to the Eternal City, but this time they remain in the 16th century throughout the disc, constructing a programme centred on two of the greatest composers of the era – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina and Tomás Luis de Victoria. Palestrina’s polyphonic art has influenced composers throughout the ages and continues to do so today, and his Missa Papae Marcelli is often regarded as the crowning glory of vocal music from the era. His slightly younger colleague Tomás Luis de Victoria was born in Spain, but went to Rome to study in 1765 and remained there for two decades. During that time he published a number of works, including Missa O quam gloriosum and the motet Gaudent in cœlis. The programme includes works scored for four as well as for six voices, in which the four members of New York Polyphony are variously joined by Tim Keeler (countertenor), Andrew Fuchs (tenor) and Jonathan Woody (bass-baritone).


Francisco Guerrero (1528-1599)
1. Regina cæli for four voices 2’30

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)
Missa Papæ Marcelli for six voices
2. Kyrie eleison 3’51
3. Gloria in excelsis Deo 5’11
4. Alleluia: Pascha nostrum for Easter Day – Plainchant 1’54
5. Credo in unum Deum 7’54
6. Offertorium: Terra tremuit for Easter Day – Plainchant 1’12
7. Sanctus 3’48
8. Benedictus 2’58
9. Agnus Dei I 3’07
10. Agnus Dei II 3’13
11. Communio: Pascha nostrum for Easter Day – Plainchant 1’26
12. Tu es Petrus for six voices 3’06

Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611)
Missa O quam gloriosum for four voices
13. Kyrie eleison 1’50
14. Gloria in excelsis Deo 3’44
15. Motet: Gaudent in cœlis – Tomás Luis de Victoria 2’13
16. Credo in unum Deum 5’54
17. Motet: Gaudent in cœlis – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina 3’27
18. Sanctus 2’28
19. Benedictus 1’57
20. Agnus Dei 3’24

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)
21. Sicut cervus / Sitivit anima mea for four voices 5’39

New York Polyphony
Geoffrey Williams countertenor
Steven Caldicott Wilson tenor
Christopher Dylan Herbert baritone
Craig Phillips bass
Tim Keeler countertenor (tracks 4, 6, 10-12)
Andrew Fuchs tenor (tracks 2-12)
Jonathan Woody bass-baritone (tracks 2-12)