Neil Young – Neil Young (1968/2014) [PonoMusic 24bit/192kHz]

Neil Young – Neil Young (1968/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 00:36:25 minutes | 1.28 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic  |  ©  Reprise Records
Recorded: August – October 1968 at Wally Heider Recording, Sunset Sound Recording and TTG Recording, Hollywood, CA

On his songs for Buffalo Springfield, Neil Young had demonstrated an eclecticism that ranged from the rock of “Mr. Soul” to the complicated, multi-part arrangement of “Broken Arrow.” On his debut solo album, he continued to work with composer/arranger Jack Nitzsche, with whom he had made “Expecting to Fly” on the Buffalo Springfield Again album, and together the two recorded a restrained effort on which the folk-rock instrumentation, most of which was by Young, overdubbing himself, was augmented by discreet string parts. The country & western elements that had tinged the Springfield’s sound were also present, notably on the leadoff track, “The Emperor of Wyoming,” an instrumental that recalled the Springfield song “A Child’s Claim to Fame.” Still unsure of his voice, Young sang in a becalmed high tenor that could be haunting as often as it was listless and whining. He was at his least appealing on the nine-and-a-half-minute closing track, “The Last Trip to Tulsa,” on which he accompanied himself with acoustic guitar, singing an impressionistic set of lyrics seemingly derived from Bob Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited. But double-tracking and the addition of a female backup chorus improved the singing elsewhere, and on “The Loner,” the album’s most memorable track, Young displayed some of the noisy electric guitar work that would characterize his recordings with Crazy Horse and reminded listeners of his ability to turn a phrase. Still, Neil Young made for an uneven, low-key introduction to Young’s solo career, and when released it was a commercial flop, his only album not to make the charts. (Several months after the album’s release, Young remixed it to bring out his vocals more and added some overdubs. This second version replaced the first in the U.S. from then on, though the original mix remained available overseas.) -William Ruhlmann

1 The Emperor Of Wyoming 2:20
2 The Loner 3:54
3 If I Could Have Her Tonight 2:22
4 I’ve Been Waiting For You 2:35
5 The Old Laughing Lady 5:59
6 String Quartet From Whiskey Boot Hill 0:58
7 Here We Are In The Years 3:27
8 What Did You Do To My Life? 2:28
9 I’ve Loved Her So Long 2:41
10 The Last Trip To Tulsa 9:28

Neil Young – vocals, guitars, piano, synthesizer, harpsichord, pipe organ
Ry Cooder – guitar
Jack Nitzsche – electric piano
Jim Messina, Carol Kaye – bass
George Grantham, Earl Palmer – drums
Merry Clayton, Brenda Holloway, Patrice Holloway, Gloria Richetta Jones, Sherlie Matthews, Gracia Nitzsche – backing vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.