Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Live Rust (1979/2014) [PonoMusic 24bit/192kHz]

Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Live Rust (1979/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:15:53 minutes | 2.69 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic  |  ©  Reprise Records
Recorded: 1978, Cow Palace, San Francisco, Boston Garden, Boston, Massachusetts, Civic Center, St. Paul, Minnesota, Chicago Stadium, Chicago, Illinois, and McNichols Arena, Denver, Colorado

All the kudos Neil Young earned for Rust Never Sleeps he lost for Live Rust, the double-LP live album released four months later. Live Rust was the soundtrack to Young’s concert film Rust Never Sleeps (he had wanted to give it that title, but Reprise vetoed the idea, fearing confusion with the earlier album), and likewise was recorded October 22, 1978, at the Cow Palace in San Francisco. But much of the Rust Never Sleeps album had been recorded on the same tour, and Live Rust repeated four songs from that disc; besides, since Young had released the career retrospective Decade in 1977, critics felt he was unfairly recycling his older material and repeating his new material. In retrospect, however, Live Rust, now a single 74-minute CD, comes off as an excellent Neil Young live album and career summary, starting with the early song “Sugar Mountain” and running through then-new songs like “My My, Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)” and “Powderfinger.” Young is effective in both his acoustic folksinger and hard-rocking Crazy Horse bandleader modes. The various distractions of the concert itself and the film, such as the pretentious props and cowled roadies, are absent, and what’s left is a terrific Neil Young concert recording. -William Ruhlmann

1 Sugar Mountain 4:53
2 I Am A Child 2:53
3 Comes A Time 3:05
4 After The Gold Rush 3:38
5 My My, Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue) 3:49
6 When You Dance I Can Really Love 3:39
7 The Loner 4:51
8 The Needle And The Damage Done 2:12
9 Lotta Love 2:51
10 Sedan Delivery 4:46
11 Powderfinger 5:29
12 Cortez The Killer 7:25
13 Cinnamon Girl 3:08
14 Like A Hurricane 7:10
15 Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black) 4:59
16 Tonight’s The Night 6:59

Neil Young: lead guitar, harmonica, piano, lead vocals
Frank Sampedro: guitar, keyboards, vocals
Billy Talbot: bass, vocals
Ralph Molina: drums, vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.