Neil Young – After The Gold Rush (1970/2014) [PonoMusic 24bit/192kHz]

Neil Young – After The Gold Rush (1970/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 00:35:04 minutes |  1.21 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Source:PonoMusic | Front cover
© Reprise Records  | Recorded: Winter 1970 – June 1970; Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA; Sound City, Van Nuys, Los Angeles; Redwood Studios, Topanga, CA.

In the 15 months between the release of Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere and After the Gold Rush, Neil Young issued a series of recordings in different styles that could have prepared his listeners for the differences between the two LPs. His two compositions on the Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young album Déjà Vu, “Helpless” and “Country Girl,” returned him to the folk and country styles he had pursued before delving into the hard rock of Everybody Knows; two other singles, “Sugar Mountain” and “Oh, Lonesome Me,” also emphasized those roots. But “Ohio,” a CSNY single, rocked as hard as anything on the second album. After the Gold Rush was recorded with the aid of Nils Lofgren, a 17-year-old unknown whose piano was a major instrument, turning one of the few real rockers, “Southern Man” (which had unsparing protest lyrics typical of Phil Ochs), into a more stately effort than anything on the previous album and giving a classic tone to the title track, a mystical ballad that featured some of Young’s most imaginative lyrics and became one of his most memorable songs. But much of After the Gold Rush consisted of country-folk love songs, which consolidated the audience Young had earned through his tours and recordings with CSNY; its dark yet hopeful tone matched the tenor of the times in 1970, making it one of the definitive singer/songwriter albums, and it has remained among Young’s major achievements. -William Ruhlmann

1 Tell Me Why 2:54
2 After The Gold Rush 3:45
3 Only Love Can Break Your Heart 3:05
4 Southern Man 5:41
5 Till The Morning Comes 1:17
6 Oh, Lonesome Me 3:47
7 Don’t Let It Bring You Down 2:56
8 Birds 2:34
9 When You Dance You Can Really Love 3:44
10 I Believe In You 2:24
11 Cripple Creek Ferry 1:34

Neil Young, guitar, piano, harmonica, vibes, lead vocals
Danny Whitten, guitar, vocals
Nils Lofgren, guitar, piano, vocals
Jack Nitzsche, piano
Billy Talbot, Greg Reeves, bass
Ralph Molina, drums, vocals
Stephen Stills, vocals
Bill Peterson, flugelhorn



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.