Neil Diamond – Stones (1971/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Neil Diamond – Stones (1971/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 33:23 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Geffen Records

Stones is the seventh studio album by Neil Diamond, recorded and released in 1971. It was one of the biggest hit recordings of his career. The conductors and arrangers were Lee Holdridge, Marty Paich and Larry Muhoberac.
Early copies of the LP album featured a picture label and a unique version of the cover with a button-string style closure on the back. The cover itself was styled as an envelope that opened from the top. This was later abandoned and replaced with a standard side-opening sleeve.

Driven by the hit singles “I Am…I Said” and “Crunchy Granola Suite,” Stones is a stronger album than most of Neil Diamond’s late-’60s records. Instead of padding the album with mediocre originals, Diamond picked several fine covers to fill out the remainder of the album, including Roger Miller’s “Husbands and Wives,” Joni Mitchell’s “Chelsea Morning,” Leonard Cohen’s “Suzanne,” Randy Newman’s “I Think It’s Gonna Rain,” Jacques Brel’s “If You Go Away,” and Tom Paxton’s “The Last Thing on My Mind.” There are still a few weak patches on Stones, but the record remains an engaging collection of mainstream pop. ~~AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 I Am…I Said 3:35
2 The Last Thing On My Mind 3:35
3 Husbands And Wives 3:47
4 Chelsea Morning 2:39
5 Crunchy Granola Suite 2:56
6 Stones 3:06
7 If You Go Away 3:50
8 Suzanne 4:42
9 I Think It’s Gonna Rain Today 2:36
10 I Am…I Said 2:38

Neil Diamond, vocals
Larry Mahoberac, Lee Holdridge, Marty Paich, arranger, conductor