Nate Smith – Kinfolk 2: See the Birds (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Nate Smith – Kinfolk 2: See the Birds (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 45:36 minutes | 662 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

Kinfolk 2: See the Birds is the highly anticipated follow up to the 2017 Grammy-nominated album Kinfolk: Postcards From Everywhere. Featuring the diverse and all-star talents of Brittany Howard, Amma Whatt, Joel Ross, Kokayi, Michael Mayo, Regina Carter, Stokley and Vernon Reid, Kinfolk 2: See the Birds is the inspired and emphatic album that exemplifies Nate’s artistry as one of the most exciting, dynamic and innovative drummer-composers of his generation, adept across multi-genres and styles. Taking inspiration from his teenage years spent absorbing the diverse and eclectic riches of Prince, Michael Jackson and Living Colour. Kinfolk 2: See the Birds is a multi-faceted jewel and is set to be one of the most significant albums of 2021.

Four years after drummer, composer, and bandleader Nate Smith released his Grammy-nominated debut, he’s releasing its thematic follow-up, Kinfolk 2: See The Birds. In the interim, he’s released two other projects: 2020’s R&B-laden EP, Light and Shadow, and 2018’s breakbeat solo drums LP, Pocket Change.

Smith sees Kinfolk as a trilogy that charts his evolution as musician. The first record touched upon his childhood in Chesapeake, Virginia, and the music that he absorbed in his home. Kinfolk 2 continues that narrative, offering an impressionistic portrait of his teenage years when he made the decision to become a musician. During this time, he was checking out a lot of music associated with the Black Rock Coalition such as Living Colour, Fishbone, and 24-7 Spyz, in addition to other pioneering acts such as Bad Brains, King’s X, Prince, and Sting. Smith was also listening to a lot of hip-hop as well as the emerging neo-soul that flowered in the 1990s.

1. Nate Smith – Altitude feat. Joel Ross & Michael Mayo
2. Nate Smith – Square Wheel feat. Kokayi & Michael Mayo
3. Nate Smith – Band Room Freestyle feat. Kokayi
4. Nate Smith – Street Lamp
5. Nate Smith – Don’t Let Me Get Away feat. Stokley
6. Nate Smith – Collision feat. Regina Carter
7. Nate Smith – Meditation: Prelude
8. Nate Smith – Rambo: The Vigilante feat. Vernon Reid
9. Nate Smith – I Burn for You feat. Amma Whatt
10. Nate Smith – See the Birds feat. Joel Ross & Michael Mayo
11. Nate Smith – Fly (For Mike) feat. Brittany Howard