Natalie Imbruglia – Male (2015) [HDTracks 24bit/44,1kHz]

Natalie Imbruglia – Male (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44.1 kHz | Time – 44:40 minutes | 503 MB | Genre: Pop
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | @ Masterworks

Natalie Imbruglia finds inspiration for her new album from her favourite male artists. Male, her first album since 2009, is a collection of classic and contemporary songs all performed by men including Cat Stevens, Damien Rice, Tom Petty, Pete Townsend and Zac Brown Band among others. It is produced by Billy Mann, who has also worked with Pink, John Legend, Celine Dion and Sting, among others.

Returning from an extended absence — she hasn’t made an album since 2009’s Come to Life and hasn’t seen a record released in the U.S. since 2001’s White Lilies Island, which was the sequel to her 1997 blockbuster Left of the Middle; a long time gone, in other words — Natalie Imbruglia lands upon an interesting concept for her comeback: take 12 songs written by male singer/songwriters and recast them as feminine. For Imbruglia, this means reviving the hazy focus of her global blockbuster “Torn,” a feel created with soft, strummed guitars and clear vocals, a sound that suits a middle-aged singer as comfortably as it does a young one, perhaps even a touch better. Although Male shamelessly evokes Left of the Middle — the cover itself looks like something of a sequel — Imbruglia takes pains to show that she’s listened to recent music. Not only are there covers of Daft Punk, Death Cab for Cutie, and Iron & Wine, but she grafts a Mumford & Sons folk-stomp onto the Cure’s “Friday I’m in Love,” then gently pushes Tom Petty’s “The Waiting” toward a tapped folk rhythm. Everything is so sweet and light, it’s difficult to discern whether Imbruglia’s choice of songs is meant to convey something greater than that these are a bunch of nice tunes. Certainly, the concept of Male suggests there might be a conceptual undertow to the album — Imbruglia finding the femininity in masculine writers — but Imbruglia chooses songs where sexuality is incidental; these are love songs that are easily retooled for the opposite sex. This safety in song selection and production means that Male certainly doesn’t have the bite of Tori Amos’ 2001 album Strange Little Girls, a record that wears its sexual politics proudly, but Imbruglia has never been an ambitious artist: she’s always been a sweet, pleasant crooner and Male plays to those very strengths.

01 – Instant Crush
02 – Cannonball
03 – The Summer
04 – I Will Follow You into the Dark
05 – Goodbye in His Eyes
06 – Friday I’m in Love
07 – Naked as We Came
08 – Let My Love Open the Door
09 – Only Love Can Break Your Heart
10 – I Melt with You
11 – The Waiting
12 – The Wind
13 – Instant Crush (Radio Edit) [Bonus Track]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.