Nat King Cole – At The Sands (1966/2015) [ProStudioMasters FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nat King Cole – At The Sands (1966/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:54 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Front Cover | © Capitol Records

Recorded in the wee small hours in January 1960 in front of a select crowd of casino guests and other Las Vegas entertainers, this album was billed at the time as Nat King Cole’s only live recording. Accompanied by a big band arranged by Dave Cavanaugh, Cole plays piano and sings standards and old favourites including The Surrey With The Fringe On Top and Miss Otis Regrets.

This rare example of a Nat King Cole live recording captures one of the 20th century’s greatest singers in fine voice in 1960 at the Sands, the Las Vegas headquarters of the Rat Pack. The band swings expertly through its sophisticated charts courtesy of legendary arrangers like Nelson Riddle and Dave Cavanaugh, and Cole demonstrates his command of a wide range of styles, from ballads like “I Wish You Love” and “Funny (Not Much)” to show tunes like “Thou Swell” and “Surrey with the Fringe on Top.” A few bonus tracks are also featured, including a late-’50s studio recording of Duke Ellington’s “In a Mellow Tone” and Cole’ sniffy take on the then-still new rock & roll craze, “Mr. Cole Won’t Rock & Roll”. ~~ AllMusic Review by AllMusic

01 – Ballerina
02 – Funny (Not Much)
03 – The Continental
04 – I Wish You Love
05 – You Leave Me Breathless
06 – Thou Swell
07 – My Kinda Love
08 – The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
09 – Where Or When
10 – Miss Otis Regrets (She’s Unable To Lunch Today)
11 – Joe Turner Blues

Recorded live at the Sands, Las Vegas on January 14, 1960.