Nat King Cole – A Mis Amigos (1959/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nat King Cole – A Mis Amigos (1959/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 28:22 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Label: Capitol Records

Arranged by Dave Cavanaugh, A Mis Amigos is Cole’s 1959 gem and second album of Spanish themed music. This rare outing is an astounding experience for any music lover. The legendary musician interprets songs including “Ay, Cosita Linda,” “El Choclo” and “Caboclo Do Rio,” transforming them into instant classics.

The songs on A Mis Amigos are truly terrific and the album’s flow from soft balladry to pulsating Cuban/South American percussion makes it a distinctive recording from Nat King Cole…a different glimpse at an American icon. – Blog Critics

Nat King Cole’s first foray into singing in Spanish, Cole Español, was successful enough to lead to this follow-up, on which a slightly different approach was taken. For Cole Español, Capitol Records imported instrumental tracks recorded in Cuba and had Cole sing over them, having learned the lyrics phonetically. A Mis Amigos, however, was recorded in Rio de Janeiro during Cole’s South American tour of 1959, with Brazilian musicians in the studio alongside the singer. That, the benefit of experience, and the reception his concerts were receiving may have helped improve his performances. He still didn’t have much feeling for Spanish (or, in three instances, Portuguese), but some of the material was more familiar to him, notably “Aquellos Ojos Verdes,” better known in the U.S. as the Jimmy Dorsey hit “Green Eyes,” and “Fantastico,” a specially written number brought in by American songwriters Jack Keller and Noel Sherman.

01 – Ay, Cosita Linda
02 – Aquellos Ojos Verdes
03 – Suas Maos
04 – Capullito De Aleli
05 – Caboclo Do Rio
06 – Fantastico
07 – Nadie Me Ama (No One Loves Me)
08 – Yo Vendo Unos Ojos Negros
09 – Perfidia
10 – El Choclo
11 – Ansiedad
12 – Nao Tenho Lagrimas