Nancy Sinatra – Start Walkin’ 1965-1976 (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nancy Sinatra – Start Walkin’ 1965-1976 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:12:23 minutes | 803 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Boots Enterprises, Inc.

If you were Frank Sinatra’s daughter and wanted a career in music, how would you go about stepping out of your father’s shadow? After a couple of cutesy singles cut with the producer behind Annette Funicello records, Nancy Sinatra, Frank’s oldest child found her groove as the kind of female badass rebel that her father likely adored: fashion influencer who brought miniskirts from Carnaby Street to America’s Main Street; daring agitator who shared a rare interracial kiss with dad’s pal Sammy Davis Jr. on national TV; Playboy cover star at age 54. It’s the attitude and image that’s given her career a lasting aura and made it influential for artists as diverse as Primal Scream, Morrissey and Lana Del Rey who has modestly referred to herself as a “Gangster Nancy Sinatra.”

As this well-curated compilation proves, Sinatra’s most influential music comes from her ’60s collaboration with oddball pop chameleon Lee Hazlewood. Although the pair’s vaguely sensual duet on the still puzzling, hippie-cowboy epic, “Some Velvet Morning,” earned them artistic credibility, the crowning achievement of their partnership and Sinatra’s calling card was 1965’s “These Boots Are Made For Walkin’”—a Hazlewood original that he originally intended to sing. Sinatra convinced him it needed a women’s voice to turn it from a tale of spousal abuse to one of female empowerment. Her instincts proved prescient and her deadpan delivery and Hazlewood’s snappy production style built around an unforgettable bass line birthed a defiant feminist ’60s anthem. Other Sinatra/Hazlewood numbers included here are the fuzz guitar march, “Lightning’s Girls,” a tremolo-guitar led version of “Bang Bang” (Cher’s first million selling single), and duets that charted with Hazlewood: “Summer Wine,” “Jackson.” The ace card in the Sinatra/Hazlewood union was using Los Angeles studio vets the Wrecking Crew as the backing band. With pros like Hal Blaine on drums, Al Casey, Glen Campbell and Larry Carlton on guitar and Carol Kaye on bass, it’s all well-recorded and beautifully mixed music, solid and stylish, and brimming with a confident Angelino brand of white pop soul. – Robert Baird


01. Nancy Sinatra – Bang Bang
02. Nancy Sinatra – These Boots Are Made for Walkin’
03. Nancy Sinatra – Sugar Town
04. Nancy Sinatra – So Long Babe
05. Nancy Sinatra – How Does That Grab You, Darlin’?
06. Nancy Sinatra – Friday’s Child
07. Nancy Sinatra – You Only Live Twice
08. Nancy Sinatra – Summer Wine
09. Nancy Sinatra – Some Velvet Morning
10. Nancy Sinatra – Lightning’s Girl
11. Nancy Sinatra – Sand
12. Nancy Sinatra – Lady Bird
13. Nancy Sinatra – Jackson
14. Nancy Sinatra – Happy
15. Nancy Sinatra – How Are Things in California
16. Nancy Sinatra – Hook and Ladder
17. Nancy Sinatra – Hello L.a., Bye-Bye Birmingham
18. Nancy Sinatra – Paris Summer
19. Nancy Sinatra – Arkansas Coal (Suite)
20. Nancy Sinatra – Down from Dover
21. Nancy Sinatra – Kind of a Woman
22. Nancy Sinatra – Machine Gun Kelly
23. Nancy Sinatra – (L’été Indien) Indian Summer