Munchner Rundfunkorchester, Ivan Repusic – Verdi: Attila (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Munchner Rundfunkorchester, Ivan Repusic – Verdi: Attila (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:41:02 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © BR-Klassik

Verdi strongly adhered to Italian patriotism and Attila is one of his works that goes to show it. A drama with a particularly inventive melodic invention, it aptly confronts the barbarian Attila, not devoid of greatness and humanity, the Roman general Ezio with his ambiguous character (“You will have the universe; but let Italy remain mine”) and the allegorical figure Odabella, an emblem of the Italian female fighters.

Attila contains some major pages heralding the great works of maturity, especially in Attila’s scene and the grand finale of the first act. In this work and like so many others, Verdi carries his political ideas into an epic and national drama.

Recorded during a concert at the Prince Regent Theatre in Munich on October 13, 2019, this production features the dark, deep voice of Italian bass baritone Ildebrando d’Archangelo, facing the powerful Ukrainian soprano Liudmyla Monastyrska, whose sharp style and impressive vocal abilities transfigure the Verdian melodies. Sicilian tenor Stefano La Colla en Foresto and Romanian baritone George Petean complete a motley but perfectly balanced cast. A special mention goes to the Bavarian Radio Choir, who bring a luxurious note to the Verdian drama conducted here by the Croatian conductor Ivan Repušić, marking his induction concert to his new position as Music Director of the Munich Radio Orchestra. – François Hudry


01 – Attila: Prelude
02 – Attila, Prologue: Urli, rapine
03 – Attila, Prologue: Eroi, levatevi
04 – Attila, Prologue: Di vergini straniere
05 – Attila, Prologue: Allor che i forti corrono
06 – Attila, Prologue: Bella e quell ira, o vergine
07 – Attila, Prologue: Uldino, a me dinanzi (Attila)
08 – Attila, Prologue: Ma se fraterno vincolo
09 – Attila, Prologue: Vanitosi!
10 – Attila, Prologue: Qual notte!
11 – Attila, Prologue: Quai voci!
12 – Attila, Prologue: Ella in poter del barbaro!
13 – Attila, Prologue: Cessato alfine il turbine
14 – Attila, Act I: Liberamente or piangi
15 – Attila, Act I: Qual suon di passi!
16 – Attila, Act I: Sì, quello io son
17 – Attila, Act I: Va! Racconta al sacrilego infame
18 – Attila, Act I: Uldino! Uldin!
19 – Attila, Act I: Mentre gonfiarsi l anima
20 – Attila, Act I: Oltre quel limite
21 – Attila, Act I: Parla! Imponi!
22 – Attila, Act I: No! Non e sogno
23 – Attila, Act II: Tregua e cogl unni
24 – Attila, Act II: Dagl immortali vertici
25 – Attila, Act II: Che vien?… Salute ad Ezio
26 – Attila, Act II: E gettata la mia sorte
27 – Attila, Act II: Del ciel l immensa volta
28 – Attila, Act II: Ezio, ben vieni!
29 – Attila, Act II: Ah!…Lo spirto de monti
30 – Attila, Act II: Si riaccendan le quercie
31 – Attila, Act II: Oh, miei prodi!
32 – Attila, Act III: Qui del convengo e il loco
33 – Attila, Act III: Che piu s indugia
34 – Attila, Act III: Te sol quest anima
35 – Attila, Act III: Non involarti, seguimi

Recorded Live on October 13 at Prinzregententheater, München.
Recording Engineer: Kirsten Ermeler.

Liudmyla Monastyrska – soprano (Odabella, daughter of the Lord of Aquileia)
Stefano La Colla – tenor (Foresto, a Tribute of Aquileia)
Stefan Sbonnik – tenor (Uldino, young Breton slave of Attila)
George Petean – baritone (Ezio, Roman General)
Ildebrando d’Arcangelo – bass (Attila, King of the Huns)
Gabriel Rollinson – bass (Leone, an old Roman)
Bavarian Radio Chorus / Stellario Fagone – Chorus Master
Munich Radio Orchestra /Ivan Repušić – Conductor