Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More (2009/2015) [HDTracks 24bit/48kHz]

Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More (2009/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 48:38 minutes | 591 MB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: HDTracks | @ Glassnote Records
Recorded between 2008-2009 at Eastcote Studios in London, UK.

Sigh No More is British folk-rock group Mumford & Sons’ debut studio album by Glassnote Records. The record made it to the number 2 spot on the U.S. Billboard 200 in early 2011 and features singles “Little Lion Man” (#1 on the U.S. Billboard Alternative Songs chart), “The Cave” (#27 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100) and “Roll Away Your Stone” (#10 on the U.S. Billboard Alternative Songs chart).

English folk outfit Mumford & Sons’ full-length debut owes more than a cursory nod to bands like the Waterboys, the Pogues, and The Men They Couldn’t Hang. The group’s heady blend of biblical imagery, pastoral introspection, and raucous, pub-soaked heartache may be earnest to a fault, but when the wildly imperfect Sigh No More is firing on all cylinders, as is the case with stand-out cuts like “The Cave,” “Winter Winds,” and “Little Lion Man,” it’s hard not to get swept up in the rapture. Like their London underground folk scene contemporaries Noah & the Whale, Johnny Flynn, and Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons’ take on British folk is far from traditional. There’s a deep vein of 21st century Americana that runs through the album, suggesting a healthy diet of Fleet Foxes, Arcade Fire, Sufjan Stevens, Blitzen Trapper, and Marah. That melding of styles, along with some solid knob-twiddling from Arcade Fire/Coldplay producer Markus Dravs, helps to keep the record from completely sinking into the quicksand of its myriad slow numbers — tracks like “I Gave You All,” “Thistle & Weeds,” and “After the Storm” are pretty and plain enough, but they neuter a band this spirited. Sigh No More is an impressive debut, but one that impresses more for its promise of the future than it does its wildly inconsistent place in the present.

01 – Sigh No More
02 – The Cave
03 – Winter Winds
04 – Roll Away Your Stone
05 – White Blank Page
06 – I Gave You All
07 – Little Lion Man
08 – Timshel
09 – Thistle & Weeds
10 – Awake My Soul
11 – Dust Bowl Dance
12 – After The Storm

Marcus Mumford – vocals, guitar, drums, mandolin
Winston Marshall – vocals, banjo, dobro, electric guitar, bass guitar
Ben Lovett – vocals, keyboards, organ, accordion
Ted Dwane – vocals, double bass, bass guitar, drums

Additional Personnel:
Nick Etwell – trumpet, flugelhorn
Pete Beachill – trombone
Nell Catchpole – violin, viola
Christopher Allan – cello

Producer: Markus Dravs
Recording engineers: François Chevallier and Samuel Navel (assistant)
Mixing engineer: Ruadhri Cushnan
Mastering eningeer: Bob Ludwig



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.