Mumford & Sons – Babel {Deluxe Edition} (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mumford & Sons – Babel {Deluxe Edition} (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 63:38 minutes | 773 MB | Genre: Rock, Indie Rock
British Folk/Indie | Official Digital Download – Source: | @ Glassnote Records

Mumford & Sons took the music world by storm with their critically-acclaimed debut album, Sigh No More. The album was an international success, selling millions of copies worldwide and established the band as a household name. Babel is their highly-anticipated sophomore recording. The epic album finds the rock quartet continuing their effortless blend of traditional folk and rock. The group’s flawless harmonies are bone-chilling. Standouts include “Ghosts That We Knew,” “Whispers In The Dark” and “Below My Feet.” Babel has already been hailed by the Washington Post as one of this year’s best releases and is on track to having the best opening week of the year.

English folk revivalists Mumford & Sons’ 2009 debut, Sigh No More, boarded the slowest train it could find on its journey from regional gem to pleasantly surprising, international success story. After simmering and stewing throughout the U.K. and Europe, the band landed boots first at the Staples Center for a rousing performance at the 2011 Grammy Awards that found the smartly dressed quartet tearing through “The Cave,” and then backing, along with the equally snappy Avett Brothers, Bob Dylan on a generation-spanning rendition of “Maggie’s Farm” that provided one of the better Grammy moments of the last decade or so. They may lack the lyrical prowess of “The Bard,” but they know how to turn a phrase, plant a seed, and build a bridge and tear it back down again without losing the audience in the process. Simply put, they can bend the relative simplicity of traditional folk music to their collective wills, which is exactly what they do on their sophomore outing, Babel. It’s also exactly what they did on their debut, and short of being a little rowdier and raspier, Babel feels less like a legitimate sequel and more like an expanded edition of the former. Working once again with producer Markus Dravs, who helmed Arcade Fire’s Grammy-winning opus The Suburbs, the Mumford boys have crafted another set of incredibly spirited songs that bark much louder than they bite. Ballsy, pained, fiery, and fraught with near constant references to sin, salvation, and all of the pontifical hopes and doubts that lie between, most of Babel is caught between the confessional and an apocalyptic hootenanny, delivering its everyman message with the kind of calculated spiritual fervor that comes from having to adapt to the festival masses as opposed to the smaller club crowds. Tracks like “Hopeless Wanderer,” “Broken Crown,” and the vivacious title cut bristle with moxie and self-importance, but feel like a ruse, aiming for the parking lot with the kind of generic, turgid melodrama that always overshoots its mark, leaving another smoky hole in an already pockmarked landscape. It’s a shame because there’s some potential here, especially when the group eases back on the Me Street Band histrionics. Two albums in and Mumford & Sons still sound like a band fused to the starting block, paralyzed by the thought of having to truly race for their lives.

01 – Babel
02 – Whispers In the Dark
03 – I Will Wait
04 – Holland Road
05 – Ghosts That We Knew
06 – Lover of the Light
07 – Lovers’ Eyes
08 – Reminder
09 – Hopeless Wanderer
10 – Broken Crown
11 – Below My Feet
12 – Not With Haste
13 – For Those Below (Bonus Track)
14 – The Boxer (feat. Jerry Douglas & Paul Simon) [Bonus Track]15 – Where Are You Now (Bonus Track)



24bit/48kHz (12 Tracks):


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.