Mstislav Rostropovich, Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker – Strauss: Don Quixote (1976/2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mstislav Rostropovich, Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker – Strauss: Don Quixote (1976/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:55 minutes | 781 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © Warner Classics

Commanding the podium with his slender figure, theatrical shock of hair and penetrating blue eyes, Herbert von Karajan projected the hieratic image of the conductor as officiant of some quasi-mystic rite. And anyone who ever saw him conduct live or on his many audiovisual recordings will agree that in his performances, music did indeed become a religion and Karajan its high-priest. Karajan (1908-1989) embodied classical music in the general consciousness as an epoch-making conductor, media star, opera producer, festival director and festival founder. But in spite of his Promethean and widely varied activities, he remained a superb conductor, with a grasp of the standard orchestral and operatic repertory from Mozart to Schoenberg that was unsurpassed among his peers. This recording was made in Berlin in 1975 with the Berlin Philharmonic. The soloists were Ulrich Koch (viola solo) and Mstislav Rostropovich, arguably one of the most outstanding cellists in the history of music.


Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Strauss, R: Don Quixote, Op. 35
1 Introduction 06:25
2 Thema – Don Quixote – The Knight of the Mournful Countenance 02:20
3 Variation I – Departure – The adventure of the windmills 02:40
4 Variation II – The battle with the sheep 01:44
5 Variation III – Sancho’s wishes, peculiarities of speech and maxims 08:38
6 Variation IV – The adventure with the procession of penitents 01:56
7 Variation V – Don Quixote’s vigil during the summer night 04:11
8 Variation VI – Dulcinea 01:14
9 Variation VII – Don Quixote’s ride through the air 01:15
10 Variation VIII – The trip on the enchanted boat 01:51
11 Variation IX – The attack on the mendicant friars 01:12
12 Variation X – The duel and return home 04:41
13 Epilogue – Don Quixote’s mind clears & Death of Don Quixote 05:42

Berliner Philharmnker
Herbert von Karajan (direction)
Mstislav Rostropovitch (cello)
Ulrich Koch (viola)