Movses Pogossian – J.S. Bach: Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin, BWV 1001-1006 (2017) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin, BWV 1001-1006 – Movses Pogossian (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 02:52:23 minutes | 2,89 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio | Booklet, Front Cover | © New Focus Recordings
Recorded: December 21-23, 2015, and May 28-30, 2016, at the Recording Studio of the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music

Acclaimed Armenian born violinist Movses Pogossian releases his performance of the full set of Bach’s iconic Six Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin. Pogossian’s soulful and thoughtful version strikes an ideal balance between various approaches to Bach. He incorporates the best characteristics of historically informed performance alongside aspects of the expansive, violinistic style associated with 20th century readings. His deep understanding of the structure of these works provides the foundation for the entire recording, elucidating the genius craft behind the fugues, the elegant harmonic architecture of the slow movements, and the brilliant “fortspinnung” or “spinning out” of motivic and episodic material in the fast movements. His lively articulation in dance movements is matched with a lyrical purity in the slower material. Pogossian mines the spiritual core of the slow movements brilliantly, preserving forward direction at deliberate tempi that allow him to explore the emotional color of each note. His approach is influenced by close work with György and Márta Kurtág, whose essential insights on Bach and music in general have inspired legions of wonderful musicians the world over. Pogossian is Professor of Violin at UCLA and can be heard as a soloist and chamber musician worldwide, as a champion of new compositions and virtuoso performer of works in the traditional canon.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, BWV 1001
1 I. Adagio 5:56
2 II. Fugue 5:26
3 III. Siciliana 4:39
4 IV. Presto 4:08
Violin Partita No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1002
5 I. Allemanda 7:48
6 II. Double 3:59
7 III. Corrente 3:35
8 IV. Double 3:45
9 V. Sarabande 5:20
10 VI. Double 3:42
11 VII. Tempo di Borea 3:48
12 VIII. Double 3:54
Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003
13 I. Grave 5:54
14 II. Fugue 9:03
15 III. Andante 7:27
16 IV. Allegro 6:04
Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004
17 I. Allemanda 7:21
18 II. Corrente 3:08
19 III. Sarabanda 5:50
20 IV. Gigue 4:36
21 V. Ciaccona 17:16
Violin Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005
22 I. Adagio 5:55
23 II. Fugue 12:32
24 III. Largo 4:33
25 IV. Allegro assai 5:33
Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006
26 I. Prelude 3:49
27 II. Loure 5:08
28 III. Gavotte en Rondeau 3:10
29 IV. Menuet I and II 5:03
30 V. Bourrée 1:37
31 VI. Gigue 2:08

Movies Pogossian, violin