Mose Allison – Wild Man On The Loose (1966/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Mose Allison – Wild Man On The Loose (1966/2011) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 32:41 minutes | 1,32 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Rhino Atlantic

Mose Allison is a master of extended technique. On Wild Man on the Loose, the virtuoso musician is joined by spectacular bassist Earl May and legendary drummer Paul Motian. The trio embeds a rootsy New Orleans sound into an album of mostly originals. With soulful execution, simplistic touches and Allison’s timeless precision, the album is an enchanting masterpiece. Stand out moments include “Wild Man on the Loose”, “War Horse,” “No Trouble Living” and the instrumental stunner “Power House.” This super pristine hi-res download is sonically mesmerizing.

The lion’s share of recordings by this artist are in a piano trio setting, and this mid-’60s session finds him working with one of the best combinations he ever had. Bassist Earl May is a solid, inventive player who is beautifully recorded here with a sound that can have the soulfulness of a classical guitar at times. On drums, Paul Motian is something of a legend, and here is heard at his most straight-ahead, simple and swinging with some nice touches from the brushes. He is also recorded extremely well, giving the pianist a really beautiful base to take off from, as well as making the overall tracks sound brilliant. The art of recording piano trios in this manner, with such a clear and immediate sound, seems to have been lost unfortunately. Sometimes a weak link on his records, even the Allison instrumentals come across forcefully. Is there a Cecil Taylor influence, or is it just the same Duke Ellington touches heard in Taylor’s music? The instrumental track “Power House” is one of the finest numbers of this sort Allison has recorded. Vocal performances are smooth as always, although the set does not contain any totally classic numbers.

01 – Wild Man
02 – No Trouble Livin’
03 – Night Watch
04 – What’s With You
05 – Power House
06 – You Can Count On Me To Do My Part
07 – Never More
08 – That’s The Stuff You Gotta Watch
09 – War Horse

Produced by Nesuhi Ertegun and Arif Mardin.
Recorded on January 26 & 28, 1965 at Atlantic Studios in NYC.

Mose Allison – piano, vocals
Earl May – bass
Paul Motian – drums