Monty Alexander – Jamboree: Monty Alexander’s Ivory and Steel (1988) {Reissue 2003} [SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Monty Alexander – Jamboree: Monty Alexander’s Ivory and Steel (1988) [Reissue 2003] {2.0 & 5.1}
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:50 minutes | Scans included | 3,1 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 53:19 mins | Scans | 965 MB

Pianist Monty Alexander’s “Ivory And Steel” group combines together bop-based jazz with Jamaican calypsoes and West Indian rhythms. On this quite enjoyable set, Alexander utilizes both Othello and Len “Boogsie” Sharpe on steel drums, either Marshall Wood or Bernard Montgomery on bass, drummer Marvin “Smitty” Smith and the hand drums of Robert Thomas Jr. Alexander contributed four of the rhythmic originals which are joined by some Jamaican folk songs (including “Sly Mangoose”), Joni Mitchell’s “Big Yellow Taxi” and a couple of obscurities. The accessible results are often memorable.

01. Sly Mongoose
02. Think Twice
03. No Woman No Cry
04. Look Up
05. Accompong
06. You Can See
07. Big Yellow Taxi
08. Reggae-Later
09. Crying
10. Linstead Market



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz