Mongo Santamaria – Workin’ On a Groovy Thing (1969/2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Mongo Santamaria – Workin’ On a Groovy Thing (1969/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 32:47 minutes | 1,23 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia – Legacy

The Mongo Santamaria/Columbia formula of Top 40 tunes retrofitted with an Afro-Cuban boogaloo beat gets another hyperactive workout here. The title tune, “Spinning Wheel,” “Proud Mary,” “My Cherie Amour” and “Get Back” are among the choices here, with Sonny Fortune occasionally scorching the earth on alto sax (and probably on flute), Joe Farrell turning up on tenor, and ever-versatile Bernard “Pretty” Purdie stoking the fires alongside Mongo. Yet the band is finally beginning to show some audible weariness with the whole operation for which one cannot blame them.


01. Workin’ On a Groovy Thing
02. Spinning Wheel
03. Too Busy Thinking About My Baby
04. We Got Latin Soul
05. Getting It Out of My System
06. Proud Mary
07. It’s Your Thing
08. My Cherie Amour
09. Get Back
10. Ain’t That Peculiar
11. Twenty-Five Miles