Mohammad Motamedi – Abdi: Hafez (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mohammad Motamedi – Abdi: Hafez (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:45:11 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Folk, Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sunset Blvd Records

The music of Iranian composer Behzad Abdi fuses dastgah (the Iranian modal system) with Western classical forms. He wrote Iran’s first national opera, Rumi, and Hafez also exemplifies his approach to the medium. The opera’s subject is the great Persian poet and mystic Hafez, whose sonnets and poetry are still widely read across the Persian-speaking world today. Behrouz Gharibpour’s libretto traces the poet’s tribulations, memories of keeping his poems from being destroyed by a despotic government, and subsequent exile. Abdi’s polytonal technique serves to reflect the unique concepts of Hafez’s 14th-century poetry with passion, lyricism and power.

CD 01

1. Mohammad Motamedi – Sultan Mobarezedin’s Attack
2. Babak Sabouri – Disaster and Killing Sultan Abu Eshaq
3. Mohammad Motamedi – Elegy
4. Hossein Alishapour – Pub and Obeid Zakani
5. Mohammad Motamedi – Saqinameh
6. Hossein Alishapour – Prison of Sultan Mobarezedin
7. Mohammad Motamedi – Hafez’s Aria I
8. Hossein Alishapour – Obeid and Sultan Mobarezedin
9. Mohammad Motamedi – Hafez’s Aria II and Arrest Hafez

CD 02

1. Mohammad Motamedi – Revolt
2. Babak Sabouri – Victory
3. Mohammad Motamedi – Departure of Hafez
4. Mohammad Motamedi – Dialogue
5. Mohammad Motamedi – Shakh-e Nabat
6. Mohammad Motamedi – Death
7. Mohammad Motamedi – Final