Mogwai – Every Country’s Sun (2017) [Bandcamp FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mogwai – Every Country’s Sun (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:07 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Front Cover | © Temporary Residence Limited

Every Country’s Sun takes two decades of Mogwai’s signature, contrasting sounds – towering intensity, pastoral introspection, synth-rock minimalism, DNA-detonating volume – and distills it, beautifully, into 56 concise minutes of gracious elegance, hymnal trance-rock, and transcendental euphoria. Produced by psych-rock luminary Dave Fridmann, it’s a structural soundscape built from stark foundations up; from a gentle, twinkling, synth-rock spectre to a solid, blown-out, skyward-thrusting obelisk.

Few bands make great music in their third decade together, but Mogwai continues the particularly strong form they’ve been in since 2013’s Les Revenants on their ninth studio album, Every Country’s Sun. It’s built, as ever, on the Scots’ familiar instrumental tropes. Sometimes the album is pensive or disturbing. Elsewhere, it’s hymnal and graceful (Coolverine), or brutal (1,000 Foot Face). It’s not so much as quiet-then-loud as the sound of transcendental near-silence gradually erupting into a sonic nuclear meltdown . However, their signature sound is constantly and slightly evolving, as they curate their canon-like sculptors, for ever chipping away to perfect the smallest detail. Synthesiser rhythms mingle with the trademark guitars. Party in the Dark, the most outright pop song of Mogwai’s career, features rarely heard Stuart Braithwaite vocals: the song blasts a New Order-like bassline through a psychedelic haze to reach a euphoric chorus (“Hungry for a peace of mind …”). As ever, it’s music that seeks to somehow navigate a pathway through life’s eternal chaos.

01 – Coolverine
02 – Party In The Dark
03 – Brain Sweeties
04 – Crossing The Road Material
05 – aka 47
06 – 20 Size
07 – 1000 Foot Face
08 – Don’t Believe The Fife
09 – Battered At A Scramble
10 – Old Poisons
11 – Every Country’s Sun

Produced & Mixed by Dave Fridmann. Mastered by Frank Arkwright.