Minnie Riperton – Perfect Angel (1974/2015) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Minnie Riperton – Perfect Angel (1974/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:39 minutes | 1,41 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: highresaudio.com | @ Capitol Records

Minnie Riperton’s first album for Epic – and the record that broke her from a hip Chicago underground artist into one of the seventies’ biggest soul divas! The record moves past the baroque soul of Minnie’s early years with Rotary Connection and Charles Stepney – and hits a mix of mellow compressed LA styles and slicker funkier numbers that do the same thing for her Chicago-trained vocals that Rufus’ backing did for that of Chaka Khan. Of course, it helps that she’s got some superbly sensitive writing and arranging help by husband Richard Rudolph – and Stevie Wonder’s definitely lurking in the background, too. Includes Minnie’s huge crossover hit “Loving You”, a perfect showcase for her beautiful 5 octave voice, plus the tracks “Our Lives”, “Every Time He Comes Around”, “Perfect Angel”, and “Reasons”.

„The best Minnie Riperton album, and still the closest she came to stardom. Stevie Wonder chipped in on drums, keyboards, and other instruments, and also wrote several tracks. “Reasons” was her finest uptempo tune, while the title track was a wonderful change-of-pace number. She also got her biggest hit, “Lovin’ You,” which became a signature tune.“ -AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn

1. Reasons 03:26
2. It’s So Nice (To See Old Friends) 04:44
3. Take A Little Trip 04:08
4. Seeing You This Way 02:43
5. The Edge Of A Dream 04:22
6. Perfect Angel 03:42
7. Every Time He Comes Around 03:54
8. Lovin’ You 03:59
9. Our Lives 05:41

Minnie Riperton, vocals
Stevie Wonder, piano, drums, cymbals, bass drum, harmonica
Michael Sembello, lead guitar
Marlo Henderson, guitar
Reggie McBride, bass
Ollie E. Brown, drums
Rocki Dzidzornu, congas
Deniece Williams, Yvonne Wright, Shirley Brewer, Lani Groves, backing vocals