Milt Jackson – Olinga (1974/2016) [e-Onkyo FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Milt Jackson – Olinga (1974/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:34 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: e-Onkyo | Front Cover | © CTI Records
Recorded: January 9, 10 1974 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Milt Jackson’s third album for CTI – part of a wonderful run that really helped him redefine his sound in the 70s! The album’s got the electric approach you’d expect from the label – a great change from the sound of Jackson in the Modern Jazz Quartet, and a surprisingly great setting for his wonderful work on vibes! Milt’s laidback style is perfect for the CTI mode – open, flowing, and filled with great tones – matched up here with sax work by Jimmy Heath, bass by Ron Carter, piano from Cedar Walton, and drums by Mickey Roker – a perfect setting to let loose in a way he rarely did on his earlier albums. The whole set’s great – and titles include “Lost April”, “Rerev”, “The Metal Melter”, “The Steel Bender”, and “I’m Not So Sure”.

Originally out on the CTI label, this set features vibraphonist Milt Jackson with some of his favorite musicians (pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Ron Carter, drummer Mickey Roker, and Jimmy Heath on tenor and soprano) along with an occasional string section. The performances are pretty straight-ahead for CTI, with Bags and company performing the ballad “Lost April,” Dizzy Gillespie’s “Olinga,” a Walton original, and three recent songs by Jackson. Although Cedar Walton does not sound as formidable on electric piano as on acoustic and the other solos overall are a bit safe, this is a nice album. -AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 Olinga 3:52
2 Rerev 6:14
3 The Metal Melter 6:23
4 The Steel Bender 5:31
5 Lost April 4:39
6 I’m Not So Sure 7:56

Milt Jackson – vibes
Jimmy Heath – soprano saxophone
Cedar Walton – piano
Ron Carter – bass
Mickey Roker – drums
Arnold Black, Harry Cykman, Max Ellen, Emanuel Green, Harold Kohon, Harry Lookofsky, David Nadien, Irving Spice – violin (#1,5)
Jesse Levy, Charles McCracken, George Ricci, Alan Shulman – cello(#1,5)
Bob James – arranger, conductor (#1,5)