Miles Davis – Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums (2015) [Blu-Ray Pure Audio Disc]

Artist: Miles Davis
Title: Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums
Genre: Jazz, Bop, Hard Bop, Cool Jazz, Trumpet Jazz
Label: © Blue Note Records/Universal Music Enterprises
Release Date: 2015
Recorded: Tracks 1 to 6, 19 to 21 and 29 to 30 were recorded at WOR Studios, New York City, NY, May 9, 1952.
Tracks 7 to 12 and tracks 22 to 28 were recorded at WOR Studios, New York City, NY, April 20, 1953.
Tracks 13 to 18 were recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ, March 6, 1954.
Quality: Blu-ray Audio
Length: 01:51:27
Video: MPEG-4 AVC 950 kbps / 1080i / 29,970 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1
Audio: English LPCM 2.0 / 96 kHz / 4608 kbps / 24-bit
Audio: English DTS-HD MA 2.0 / 96 kHz / 3339 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
Audio: English Dolby TrueHD 2.0 / 96 kHz / 2458 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)

Universal Music Group has gone back to the original master tapes to deliver fully uncompressed, high-resolution versions of many of your favorite albums on Blu-ray Pure Audio Disc. Mastered at 24bit/96kHz, Blu-ray Pure Audio Discs deliver the sound the artists originally heard in the studio when these classic albums were recorded. These discs provide all the recorded musical information. While convenient due to their small file size, today’s heavily compressed music files do not represent the true fidelity of the original album.
•     Recordings are transferred from the original master tapes and delivered in high-resolution 24-bit/96kHz audio
•     No compression is utilized, and the sound quality is vastly superior to MP3 or standard CD
•     Three separate choices of audio file format for playback: PCM 2.0, Dolby True HD, or DTS-HD Master Audio (5.1 available where noted)
•     Your preferred audio format is chosen either by pressing the “Audio” button on your Blu-ray remote or via your onscreen menu display
Now available on Blu-Ray Pure Audio Disc, Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums is a new Miles Davis Estate-approved collection of the legendary artist’s three Blue Note 10-inch albums plus all alternate takes issued on subsequent 12-inch albums and CD reissues: a total of 26 tracks recorded for Blue Note Records on three dates in 1952, ’53 and ’54. This is the first time Davis’ 10-inch albums – Young Man With A Horn, Miles Davis Vol. 2 and Vol. 3 – have been issued in their original sequence since the early 1950s.

Blu-ray Pure Audio Discs:

Audio is taken from the original master tapes and mastered in 24-bit/96kHz resolution with a choice of three sound formats: PCM, Dolby True HD, or DTS-HD Master Audio. You can finally enjoy the music in the fidelity originally experienced in the studio.

The 2014 anthology Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums compiles tracks jazz trumpeter Miles Davis recorded for Blue Note Records during the ’50s. These are recordings made after Davis left Prestige, but not including the 1949-1950 sessions later released as the classic 1957 album Birth of the Cool. Here, instead, we get recordings that were initially released as 10″ LPs titled Young Man with a Horn, Miles Davis, Vol. 2, and Miles Davis, Vol. 3. Also included are all of the alternate takes that accompanied the original releases. Backing Davis on these sessions is a veritable who’s who of future jazz hall of famers, including drummer Art Blakey, pianist Horace Silver, saxophonist Jackie McLean, and others. These recordings were made during a comparatively fallow period in Davis’ career, just as he was emerging from his initial bout with heroin addiction. Here, cuts like the sanguine “Yesterdays” and the poignant “It Never Entered My Mind” reveal a darker, if no less melodic, version of the trumpeter who had previously paid his dues, chasing the shadow of Dizzy Gillespie in Charlie Parker’s quintet. In fact, Davis tackles several Gillespie-associated compositions here, including “Woody ‘N You” and “Ray’s Idea,” delivering them in his own understated, if no less bravura, style. This is the beginning of Davis the minimalist, eschewing flowery asides for straightforward, unadorned melodic line readings and improvisations played in a vibrato-free eighth-note style. In that sense, these cuts prefigure the more aggressive hard bop and harmonically challenging post-bop of the ’60s; styles that Davis later helped to innovate with his “first great quintet.” Ultimately, the tracks on Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums point the way toward Davis’ landmark Columbia albums that transformed him from one of the best jazz trumpeters on the N.Y.C. scene into an international superstar. –Matt Collar


  BLP 5013  Young Man With A Horn (The Miles Davis Sextet)
1 Dear Old Stockholm 4:16
2 Chance It 3:26
3 Yesterdays 3:46
4 Donna 3:04
5 Woody ‘N You 3:15
6 How Deep Is The Ocean 4:41

  BLP 5022  Miles Davis, Vol. 2 (The Miles Davis Sextet)
7 Kelo 3:19
8 Enigma 3:25
9 Ray’s Idea 3:45
10 Tempus Fugit 3:51
11 C.T.A. 3:33
12 I Waited For You 3:31

  BLP 5040  Miles Davis, Vol. 3 (The Miles Davis Quartet)
13 Take Off 3:41
14 Lazy Susan 4:04
15 The Leap 4:32
16 Well You Needn’t 5:25
17 Weirdo 4:45
18 It Never Entered My Mind 4:04

  Bonus Tracks: Alternate Takes (The Miles Davis Sextet)
19 Chance It (Take 5) 2:55
20 Donna (Take 1 – Single Version) 3:12
21 Woody ‘N You (Take 1) 3:24
22 Kelo (Take 2) 3:31
23 Enigma (Take 5) 3:36
24 Ray’s Idea (Take 1) 3:52
25 Tempus Fugit (Take 2) 3:59
26 C.T.A. (Take 2) 3:19

  Bonus EP: Enigma (The Miles Davis Sextet)
27 Enigma (Alternate Take 1) 3:42
28 Kelo (Alternate Take 1) 3:21
29 Chance It (Alternate Take 3) 3:04
30 Chance It (Alternate Take 4) 3:09


Disc Title:     Miles Davis.Take Off- The Complete Blue Note Albums.2015.BDA1080i
Disc Size:      11 763 742 630 bytes
Protection:     AACS
BD-Java:        Yes
BDInfo:         0.5.8


Name:                   00000.MPLS
Length:                 1:51:27.047 (
Size:                   11 761 391 616 bytes
Total Bitrate:          14,07 Mbps


Codec                   Bitrate             Description
-----                   -------             -----------
MPEG-4 AVC Video        950 kbps            1080i / 29,970 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1


Codec                           Language        Bitrate         Description
-----                           --------        -------         -----------
LPCM Audio                      English         4608 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 4608 kbps / 24-bit
DTS-HD Master Audio             English         3339 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 3339 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
Dolby TrueHD Audio              English         2458 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 2458 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)


Name            Time In         Length          Size            Total Bitrate
----            -------         ------          ----            -------------
00000.M2TS      0:00:00.000     1:51:27.047     11 761 391 616  14 071

Blu-ray Audio Disc:

Please enter the code below to access the content.