Michael Lewin – Claude Debussy: Beau Soir – Preludes Book 2 & Other works (2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Michael Lewin, Claude Debussy: Beau Soir – Preludes Book 2 & Other works (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Digital Booklet | 1.98 GB
Genre: Classical | Official Digital Download – Source: HDtracks

Even in a catalog crowded with world-class Debussy Préludes Book II cycles, Michael Lewin has a lot to offer. The intricate fingerwork in Nos. 1, 4, 8, 11 and 12 combine muted hues and blueprint clarity, while sustained neutral tones create haunting long lines throughout Nos. 2 and 10. The disc opens with pianist/transcriber Koji Attwood’s beautiful reworking of the song “Beau Soir,” followed by myriad short works. Although Lewin’s cut and dried Valse romantique and La Plus que lente may lack charm and sentiment to certain ears, L’isle joyeux and Etude pour les octaves release their pent-up tension to impressive effect.

Composer: Claude Debussy
Performer: Michael Lewin


Sono Luminus is proud to announce the latest project from Michael Lewin, Beau Soir – Préludes Book II and Other Works. It is a collection of popular works from one of the world’s favorite composers with his complete second book of préludes following the popular and critical success of Piano Phantoms (DSL-92168). This is the first time this music has been presented in stunning High-Resolution stereo and surround sound on Pure Audio Blu-ray (standard CD included in the package).

Michael Lewin enjoys a distinguished international reputation as one of America’s most abundantly gifted and charismatic concert pianists, performing to acclamation in 30 countries. Commanding a repertoire of 40 piano concertos, Michael Lewin has appeared as soloist with the Netherlands Philharmonic, Cairo Symphony, Bucharest ‘Enescu’ Philharmonic, Filharmónica Jalisco de Guadalajara, State Symphony of Greece, the Boston Pops, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, the Symphonies of Phoenix, Indianapolis, Miami, Colorado, Nevada, West Virginia, Puerto Rico, Illinois, North Carolina, Sinfonia da Camera, and the Youth Orchestra of the Americas. He has premiered two Concertos by David Kocsis and performed Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue over 50 times.

Lewin’s career was launched with top prizes in the Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in the Netherlands, the American Pianists Association Award and the William Kapell International Competition. Following his notable New York recital debut in Lincoln Center, The New York Times wrote that “his immense technique and ability qualify him eminently for success.” Since then he has concertized widely in solo recital, with orchestras, and as a chamber musician. This recording will be followed up by a recording to be done in 2014 which will have Préludes Book I and more Debussy favorites.

01. Beau Soir
02. L´Isle joyeuse
03. The Little Shepherd
04. Danse (Tarantelle Styriene)
05. Elégie
06. Pour les octaves
07. Valse romantique
08. La plus que lent

• Préludes Book II
09. I. Brouilards
10. II. Feuilles mortes
11. III. La Puerta del Vino
12. IV. “Les Fées sont d’exquises danseuses”
13. V. Buyères
14. VI. General Lavine – eccentric
15. VII. La terrasses des audiences du clair de lune
16. VIII. Ondine
17. IX. Hommage à S. Pickwick Esq.
18. X. Canopes
19. XI. Les tierces alternées
20. XII. Feux d’Artifice