Michael Jackson – HIStory: Past, Present And Future, Book I (1995/2007) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Michael Jackson – HIStory: Past, Present And Future, Book 1 (1995/2007)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:28:32 minutes | 3,15 GB | Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | @ Epic

Michael Jackson’s double-disc HIStory: Past, Present, and Future, Book I is a monumental achievement of ego. Titled “HIStory Begins,” the first disc is a collection of his post-Motown hits, featuring some of the greatest music in pop history, including “Billie Jean,” “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough,” “Beat It,” and “Rock with You.” It leaves some hits out — including the number ones “Say Say Say” and “Dirty Diana” — yet it’s filled with enough prime material to be thoroughly intoxicating. That can’t be said for the second disc, called “HIStory Continues” and consisting entirely of new material — which also happens to be the first material he released since being accused of child molestation. “HIStory Continues” is easily the most personal album Jackson has recorded. References to the scandal permeate almost every song, creating a thick atmosphere of paranoia. If Jackson’s music had been the equal of Thriller or Bad, the nervous, vindictive lyrics wouldn’t have been quite as overbearing. However, “HIStory Continues” reiterates musical ideas Jackson had been exploring since Bad. Jackson certainly tries to stay contemporary, yet he has a tendency to smooth out all of his rougher musical edges with show-biz schmaltz. Occasionally, Jackson produces some well-crafted pop that ranks with his best material: R. Kelly’s “You Are Not Alone” is seductive, “Scream” improves on the slamming beats of his earlier single “Jam,” and “Stranger in Moscow” is one of his most haunting ballads. Nevertheless, “HIStory Continues” stands as his weakest album since the mid-’70s. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01 – Billie Jean
02 – The Way You Make Me Feel
03 – Black Or White
04 – Rock With You
05 – She’s Out Of My Life
06 – Bad
07 – I Just Can’t Stop Loving You
08 – Man in the Mirror
09 – Thriller
10 – Beat It
11 – The Girl Is Mine
12 – Remember the Time
13 – Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough
14 – Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
15 – Heal the World
16 – Scream
17 – They Don’t Care About Us
18 – Stranger in Moscow
19 – This Time Around
20 – Earth Song
21 – D.S.
22 – Money
23 – Come Together
24 – You Are Not Alone
25 – Childhood (Theme from “Free Willy 2”)
26 – Tabloid Junkie
27 – 2 Bad
28 – History
29 – Little Susie / Pie Jesu
30 – Smile