Michael Blake – Red Hook Soul (2016/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Michael Blake – Red Hook Soul (2016/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:36 minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ropeadope

The liner notes of Red Hook Soul tell the story – a positive dedication to both perfection of the musical craft and to the strength of the neighborhood. This record is not about pyrotechnics despite the incredible playing from the entire band – it’s about a seasoned set of musicians down at the corner bar with a deep understanding of the roots of music and culture. The title track feels like an old friend, moving you down the road on the way to work at the shipyard. The rest speak of stops along the way, with a funky tribute to the great King Curtis right in the middle. Stop by here for the story, and support this seamlessy crafted piece of history.


01. Red Hook Soul (5:42)
02. Volunteered Slavery (7:14)
03. The Nitty Gritty (5:55)
04. Video Games (4:50)
05. King Curtis (4:05)
06. I Love You More Than Words Can Say (4:54)
07. Did You Call Her Today? (7:01)
08. Everybody Needs Love (4:52)
09. That Lucky Old Sun (6:09)