Megadeth – Rust in Peace (1990/2016) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Megadeth – Rust in Peace (1990/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 40:44 minutes | 1,7 GB | Genre: Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Capitol Records

Rust In Peace is held in high regard in the metal community as one of the best thrash/speed metal albums of all time; debuting at #23 on the Billboard 200 in the U.S. and #8 in the U.K. The album showcased a much tighter sound, with Mustaine’s writing style adopting a rhythmically complex progressive edge. The musicianship is tight, lyrics are personal, and the sense of amazement never ends. Quite possibly the best combination of intensity and technicality to be found. The album received Grammy nominations in 1990 and 1991 for “Best Metal Performance”.

A sobered-up Mustaine returns with yet another lineup, this one featuring ex-Cacophony guitar virtuoso Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza, for what is easily Megadeth’s strongest musical effort. As Metallica was then doing, Mustaine accentuates the progressive tendencies of his compositions, producing rhythmically complex, technically challenging thrash suites that he and Friedman burn through with impeccable execution and jaw-dropping skill. Thanks to Mustaine’s focus on the music rather than his sometimes clumsy lyrics, Rust in Peace arguably holds up better than any other Megadeth release, even for listeners who think they’ve outgrown heavy metal. While the whole album is consistently impressive, the obvious highlight is the epic, Eastern-tinged “Hangar 18.” –AllMusic Review by Steve Huey

1. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due 06:35
2. Hangar 18 05:14
3. Take No Prisoners 03:28
4. Five Magics 05:42
5. Poison Was The Cure 02:58
6. Lucretia 03:58
7. Tornado Of Souls 05:22
8. Dawn Patrol 01:51
9. Rust In Peace…Polaris 05:36

Dave Mustaine – Lead vocals, rhythm guitar, lead guitar
David Ellefson – Bass guitar, backing vocals
Marty Friedman – Lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Nick Menza – Drums, backing vocals