Megadeth – Countdown To Extinction: Live (2013) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Megadeth – Countdown To Extinction: Live (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:20:08 minutes | 0,99 GB | Genre: Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © CAPITOL CATALOG MKT (C92)

In November and December of 2012, Megadeth blazed hot on the band’s “Countdown to Extinction 20th Anniversary Tour”, ripping through their entire double platinum 1992 album from start to finish before performing other classics from their recorded catalog. Recorded and filmed at Los Angeles’ Fox Theatre last December, “Countdown to Extinction: Live” is a definitive document of the acclaimed, sold-out tour.

Though Megadeth and their founder Dave Mustaine have spent their entire existence just a few steps behind Mustaine’s former group Metallica, it’s important to remember that they’ve also spent a lot of time as one of the most popular metal bands in the world. The summit of their commercial success came in 1992 with fifth album Countdown to Extinction, a creative high point from Mustaine and crew possibly spurred on in ways by the footrace with Metallica and the leaps in production made on their self-titled 1991 breakthrough album. Twenty years later, Countdown still stood as Megadeth’s best-selling album, and in many circles, their most loved material. Countdown to Extinction: Live is a concert document of the 20th anniversary tour that found the band playing the album front to back, bookended by a few odds and ends from other albums. While the premise seems pretty rote, the execution of the live album is surprisingly interesting. Most live re-creations of full albums fall flat in comparison to the original artifacts, and this is no exception, but it’s great to hear the devoted legions sneer along with every word of Mustaine’s schizophrenic monologue on “Sweating Bullets” and cheer insanely at the now-dated George Bush samples that pop up throughout the set list. The performances are pinpoint, but the live sound lacks the production and feel of the studio album and eventually the tracks blur, losing the excitement a live experience offers. While the inclusion of extra crowd favorites like “Hangar 18” and “Peace Sells” flesh things out somewhat, the thrill of the live setting doesn’t completely transfer, and all but the Megadeth superfans will probably prefer revisiting the original 1992 album before diving into the strong but much duller offerings of the live album.


01 – Trust
02 – Hangar 18
03 – Public Enemy
04 – Skin O’ My Teeth
05 – Symphony Of Destruction
06 – Architecture Of Aggression
07 – Foreclosure Of A Dream
08 – Sweating Bullets
09 – This Was My Life
10 – Countdown To Extinction
11 – High Speed Dirt
12 – Psychotron
13 – Captive Honour
14 – Ashes In Your Mouth
15 – She Wolf
16 – Peace Sells
17 – Holy Wars…The Punishment Due