Maxwell – Embrya (1998/2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Maxwell – Embrya (1998/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:02:38 minutes | 2,42 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Columbia – Legacy

Maxwell’s ambition was one of the appealing qualities of his debut, Urban Hang Suite, especially since very few of his contemporaries were attempting to expand the boundaries of contemporary R&B. However, blessings can be curses, and that very ambition gets the better of Maxwell on his second album, Embrya. Loaded with pretentious song titles (“Gestation: Mythos,” “Arroz con Pollo,” “Luxury: Cococure”), the album bogs down in its own sophistication and his desire to make deep, serious music. Like Terence Trent d’Arby whose Neither Fish Nor Flesh offers a frightening parallel to Embrya Maxwell wants to be so much more than just another soul crooner, but his gifts become obscured the more he pushes them forward. To be sure, Embrya is far from a washout. Maxwell does have a remarkable voice and he can write really good modern soul songs it’s just that he has a tendency to think that’s not enough and then he overstuffs his songs with ideas that lead nowhere. With a little more focus, Embrya could have been an impressive second step. As it stands, it’s a bit of a sophomore stumble, albeit one with promising moments.

01. Everwanting: To Want You to Want
02. I’m You: You Are Me and We Are You (Pt Me & You)
03. Luxury: Cococure
04. Drowndeep: Hula
05. Matrimony: Maybe You
06. Arroz Con Pollo
07. Know These Things: Shouldn’t You
08. Submerge: Til We Become the Sun
09. Gravity: Pushing to Pull
10. Eachhoureachsecondeachminuteeachday: Of My Life
11. Embrya
12. Gestation: Mythos