Matt Haimovitz – Primavera I: The Wind (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Matt Haimovitz – Primavera I: The Wind (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:24:27 minutes | 1,63 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © PentaTone

“PRIMAVERA I the wind” is the first collection in a momentous series encompassing 81 world premieres for solo cello. This digital album presents 14 new commissions by “The Primavera Project” for groundbreaking, multi-Grammy nominated cellist Matt Haimovitz. Each composer responds to Sandro Botticelli’s enigmatic painting, Primavera, and the prophetic large-scale triptych, Primavera 2020, by world-renowned contemporary artist Charline von Heyl.

Framed by Gabriella Smith’s bare, a moving chorale to environmental turmoil and Lisa Bielawa’s Missa Primavera, a hopeful fantasy on Josquin des Pres’ cantus firmi, Vijay Iyer, David Sanford, Nkeiru Okoye, Jorge Sosa, and others bring a multitude of influences from the world of Jazz and Latin music, to Vivaldi and Scriabin.

Recorded in January 2021 at Charline von Heyl’s artist studio near downtown Marfa, Texas, the distinct and diverse contemporary compositional voices bridge the centuries, expanding and redefining the range and repertoire of the solo cello.


1. Bare (05:25)
2. Suolo (03:31)
3. The Crocus Palimpsest (04:43)
4. Euba’s Dance (04:34)
5. Reimagined Spring (06:21)
6. The Motion Between Three Worlds (04:58)
7. Equal Night (09:53)
8. Diaphanous Grace (06:28)
9. Chloris & Zephyrus (05:37)
10. Six Graces (05:41)
11. Sorta Voce (06:47)
12. Spring Forward (05:07)
13. Fluorescenza (07:44)
14. Missa primavera (07:38)