Mathias Eick – The Door (2008) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mathias Eick – The Door (2008)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 49:16 minutes | 906 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ECM

Mathias Eick’s resumé includes work with musicians of many styles, from Chick Corea and the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra to Norwegian psychedelic rock band Motorpsycho. A primary project in the last ten years has been the jazz/progressive rock ten-piece band Jaga Jazzist: Eick’s multi-instrumentalism has been an important part of that group’s sound and on The Door he is also heard on vibraphone and guitar as well as trumpet, as he puts it, whatever needs to be played. Eick has appeared on two ECM recordings with Norwegian-American guitarist Jacob Young, Evening Falls and Sideways, and on Finnish harpist/pianist/composer Iro Haarla’s Northbound. In 2007 he became a frontline soloist of Manu Katché’s band, appearing on the best-selling Playground…

Trumpeter Mathias Eick, in the first album released under his own name, focuses all the qualities that have made him a musician to be reckoned with in and around jazz of the last decade. The Door is distinguished by vaulting lyricism and clear-edged melodies, a strong sense of ambient space in the writing, and edge and excitement and openness to improvisation. The 28-year-old Norwegian cites Miles Davis, Clifford Brown, Kenny Wheeler, Tomasz Stanko, Arve Henriksen and Nils Petter Molvaer as influences upon his stylistic evolution as a soloist. However it was his own, meanwhile characteristic, sound that prompted the International Association of Jazz Educators (IAJE) to present him the International Jazz Award for New Talent in 2007. The prize included support for an international tour, allowing Eick and musicians to develop their repertoire. The Door was subsequently recorded in Oslo s Rainbow and Cabin Recorders studios in September 2007. Eick s spacious pieces allow plenty of free range for Jon Balke, whose resourcefulness as pianist, always taking the path less trodden, is in evidence throughout the album. Balke s playing, in a rare sideman role, is one of the pleasures of The Door. Orchestrator par excellence in presentations of his own music (particularly with Magnetic North), Balke the pianist is effectively an arranger-in-action here, continually opening up fresh perspectives inside Eick s robust ballads and mid-tempo pieces. Drummer Audun Kleive is another player with deep ECM roots. A former member of Terje Rypdal s Chasers and of Charles Lloyd s touring quartet, he has also had a long association with percussionist Marilyn Mazur. Here he in tandem with bassist Audun Erlien, (previously heard on ECM with Nils Petter Molvaer), developing and telescoping the grooves and pulses. Guest artist Stian Carstensen who appears on three tunes ( Cologne Blues , October and December ) was last heard on ECM playing accordion with Trygve Seim (Different Rivers) is here featured on pedal steel guitar, an instrument whose expressive potential is rarely glimpsed in jazz contexts.

01 – The Door
02 – Stavanger
03 – Cologne Blues
04 – October
05 – December
06 – Williamsburg
07 – Fly
08 – Porvoo

Produced by Manfred Eicher and Mathias Eick. Engineered by Peer Espen Ursfjord.
Recorded September 2007 at Rainbow Studio, Oslo, Norway.
Additional recordings at Cabin Recorders by Audun Ofstad Borrmann.
Mixed by Mathias Eick, Manfred Eicher and Peer Espen Ursfjord.

Mathias Eick – trumpet, guitar, vibraphone
Jon Balke – piano, Fender Rhodes
Audun Erlien – electric bass, guitar
Audun Kleive – drums, percussion
Stian Carstensen – pedal steel guitar on “3-5”