Mathias Eick – Ravensburg (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mathias Eick – Ravensburg (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 40:10 minutes | 798 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

One of the pleasures of Mathias Eick s Midwest album was hearing his vaulting trumpet supported by violin, an instrumental combination further developed on Ravensburg. The new violinist in Eicks ensemble is Hakon Aase, one of the up-and-coming players of the new Norwegian scene, whom attentive ECM listeners will already know from his work with Thomas Stronens group. The core Eick road band is further shored up by the addition of Helge Andreas Norbakken, who interacts excitingly with fellow drummer Torstein Lofthus. Eick is in great form as a writer on this showing, deploying driving rhythm at the bottom end of his music and soaring melody at the top in this series of pieces which add up to a kind of collective family portrait. Ravensburg was recorded at Oslos Rainbow Studio in June 2017 and produced by Manfred Eicher, and is issued on the eve of European tour.

01. Family 04:15
02. Children 05:42
03. Friends 06:16
04. August 05:01
05. Parents 05:16
06. Girlfriend 05:13
07. Ravensburg 05:38
08. For My Grandmothers 02:49

Mathias Eick, trumpet, voice
Håkon Aase, violin
Andreas Ulvo, piano
Audun Erlien, electric bass
Torstein Lofthus, drums
Helge Andreas Norbakken, drums, percussion