Mary Wells – Mary Wells Sings My Guy (1964/2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Mary Wells – Mary Wells Sings My Guy (1964/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 32:15 minutes | 1,34 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Motown Records

“Mary Wells Sings My Guy” is the fourth studio album and fifth overall album released by Motown vocalist Mary Wells. The album features her signature hit of the same name (which had already appeared on Greatest Hits earlier in the year) and the proposed singles “Whisper You Love Me Boy” and “He’s the One I Love”, the latter later re-recorded by Tammi Terrell during her own brief Motown tenure. It turned out to be the last studio effort Wells released for Motown as she left the label that year for 20th Century Fox Records.

Originally released as “My Guy” was topping the charts, this LP could have gone much further up the charts (peaking at #111 although her “Greatest Hits” LP out simultaneously hit #18) if Mary did not decide to leave Motown. The first two tracks of Side One “He’s The One I Love” and “Whisper You Love Me Boy” are among the finest tracks Mary cut at Motown. Either one would have been the perfect follow-up single to “My Guy”. The closing track of Side One “He Holds His Own” is the version cut before the Supremes a year later, but Mary continues to captivate listeners with her husky smooth vocals backed by The Four Tops AND Supremes. Side Two sees Mary in a MOR type setting with updated versions of “now” standards, “I Only Have Eyes For You”, “At Last”, “You Do Something To Me”, and notably “My Baby Just Cares For Me”. Mary’s vocal interplay with the Andantes makes this one of Motown’s first full listenable LP’s circa 1964. Overall, it is just not an LP of just one hit with hasty filler, nor is it a noisy dance album, it’s simply a nicely sequenced collection of well-crafted, well sung early Motown recordings.

01 – He’s The One I Love
02 – Whisper You Love Me Boy
03 – My Guy
04 – Does He Love Me?
05 – How? When My Heart Belongs To You
06 – He Holds His Own
07 – My Baby Just Cares For Me
08 – I Only Have Eyes For You
09 – You Do Something To Me
10 – It Had To Be You
11 – If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
12 – At Last