Marvin Gaye – That’s The Way Love Is (1970/2016) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Marvin Gaye – That’s The Way Love Is (1970/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:56 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Motown

One of the most iconic singers of his generation, Marvin Gaye aka The Prince of Motown, was cited for his ‘huge contribution to soul music in general and the Motown Sound in particular…[his] classic R&B voice was edged with grit yet tempered with sweetness…[projecting] an air of soulful authority driven by fervid conviction and heartbroken vulnerability.’ In correlation with the Marvin Gaye Volume Two 1966-1970 box set which picked right up where the 1961-1965 box set left off, the albums – Moods of Marvin Gaye (1966), Take Two with Kim Weston (1966), United with Tammi Terrell, (1967) In The Groove aka I Heard It Through the Grapevine (1968), You’re All I Need with Tammi Terrell (1968), M.P.G. (1969), Easy with Tammi Terrell (1969) and That’s The Way Love Is (1970) – are all being offered individually on 180g vinyl. During this fruitful period Marvin produced such timeless hits as ‘It Takes Two’ with Kim Weston, plus numerous duets with Tammi Terrell including ‘Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,’ ‘Your Precious Love,’ ‘Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing,’ and ‘You’re All I Need to Get By.’

A fine two-in-one album with two of Gaye’s better love/romantic albums. He was deeply influenced by Nat ‘King’ Cole and loved Frank Sinatra, and their impact registers in his phrasing and style throughout the Many Moods album. The other LP included a superb hit in the title track and plenty of good supporting material.

01. Gonna Give Her All the Love I’ve Got
02. Yesterday
03. Groovin’
04. I Wish It Would Rain
05. That’s the Way Love Is
06. How Can I Forget
07. Abraham, Martin & John
08. Gonna Keep On Tryin’ Till I Win Your Love
09. No Time For Tears
10. Cloud Nine
11. Don’t You Miss Me a Little Bit Baby
12. So Long

Marvin Gaye – lead vocals
Marlene Barrow – background vocals
Jackie Hicks – background vocals
Louvain Demps – background vocals
Freddie Gorman – background vocals
Walter Gaines – background vocals
Henry Dixon – background vocals
C.P. Spencer – background vocals
The Funk Brothers – all instruments