Martial Solal with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen & Daniel Humair – Suite For Trio (1978/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Martial Solal with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen & Daniel Humair – Suite For Trio (1978/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 42:07 minutes | 798 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

On this MPS release Solal teams up with jazz giants German bassist Niels-Henning Pederson and Swiss drummer Daniel Humair in what music journalist Karl Lippegaus described as “a European dream trio”. Solal originals grace the first three album tracks. Coming Yesterday features Solal and Pederson playing the difficult melody line in unison, followed by an inventive piano solo and Pederson’s exploratory play punctuated by Solal’s pointillistic chordal jabs. No Delay swings from postimpressionist modernism on through to a Latin feel and into a bluesy bass solo in a rollercoaster ride of musical emotions. Suite For Two again displays Solal’s creative genius as it pushes musical boundaries in what could be described as ‘Solal jazz’. Solal’s abstract introduction to ‘S Wonderful settles down to a swinging version of the Gershwin classic, replete with humorous pianistic asides and some tasty brush work by Humair. Cherokee, the piece that Charlie Parker used to redefine jazz improvisation, starts off with Pederson playing over the changes before Solal dismembers then reconstructs the piece. After each trio member has a short solo say on Here’s That Rainy Day, the band takes on the standard at an up-tempo pace. Humair segues the trio into a dark rock beat as they walk away into the mist. A superb trio with surprises around every bend of the musical road.

01 – Coming Yesterday
02 – No Delay
03 – Suite for Trio
04 – S’wonderful
05 – Cherokee
06 – Here’s That Rainy Day

Produced by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer.
Digitally Remastered in 2015

Martial Solal – piano
Niels Henning Ørsted-Pedersen – bass
Daniel Humair – drums