Mark Guiliana Jazz Quartet – Jersey (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mark Guiliana Jazz Quartet – Jersey (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:54 minutes | 483 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Motema

Released in 2015, Family First was a convincing first episode for Mark Guiliana’s quartet. Two years later the drummer from New Jersey is reuniting with saxophonist Jason Rigby, pianist Fabian Almazan and bassist Chris Morrisey for an even denser album titled Jersey. A recording that also constitutes a reflection for the drummer – who has worked with John Scofield, Donny McCaslin, Meshell Ndegeocello, Avishai Cohen, David Bowie (he was involved in his last album, Blackstar) and Brad Mehldau (the pianist with whom he forms an impetuous duo) – about his art form and the quartet format. “Many of my releases as a leader he explains, have been driven by electronic-inspired beats and textures, but with Family First and now Jersey, it felt like the right time to present my music in an entirely acoustic environment… So the Jazz Quartet is my humble attempt to make a personal statement using the traditional palette of saxophone, piano, bass and drums. For the band, this line-up presents a challenge: How creative can we be inside this box – how much freedom and experimentation can we find?” Sense of narration, unmatched improvisations, harmonic and rhythmic sophistication: there’s everything in Jersey. The album of a quartet before that of a drummer.

01. inter-are (4:35)
02. Jersey (6:18)
03. Our Lady (6:21)
04. BP (3:07)
05. Rate (0:53)
06. September (4:15)
07. Big Rig Jones (6:07)
08. The Mayor of Rotterdam (6:49)
09. Where Are We Now? (8:30)

Jason Rigby – Tenor Saxophone
Fabian Almazan – Piano
Chris Morrissey – Bass
Mark Guiliana – Drums