Mariah Carey – Mariah Carey (1990) [PonoMusic FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mariah Carey – Mariah Carey (1990)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:23 minutes | 985 MB | Genre: R&B, Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic | Front Cover | © Columbia Records

The cliché “meteoric rise” could have been invented for Mariah Carey. This self-titled debut sold over eight million copies, produced four number one singles, and earned her a Grammy Award for Best New Artist. Not bad for an unknown 19-year-old. It also set her on her way to becoming the best-selling female artist of the 1990s — a particularly impressive feat considering the caliber of the competition during that decade — largely on the strength of her truly remarkable voice. She swoops across an unbelievable five octaves on these smooth ballads and bouncy R&B tunes, and her vocal control is simply stunning — witness her spine-tingling upper register notes on “Someday” and “Prisoner” to choose just two of many examples. But she’s more than a pretty voice; Carey also co-wrote each of the 11 songs on this album, and though her songwriting chops would improve over the years, the sheer excitement of hearing this talent for the first time makes this a memorable debut.
This extremely impressive debut is replete with smooth-sounding ballads and uplifting dance/R&B cuts. Carey convincingly seizes many opportunities to display her incredible vocal range on such memorable tracks as the popular “Vision of Love” (featured during her television debut on The Arsenio Hall Show, an appearance noted by many as her formal introduction to stardom), the energetic “Someday,” and the moody sounds of the hidden treasure “Vanishing.” With this collection of songs acting as a springboard for future successes, Carey establishes a strong standard of comparison for other breakthrough artists of this genre. ~~AllMusic Review by Ashley S. Battel

1 Vision Of Love 3:28
2 There’s Got To Be A Way 4:53
3 I Don’t Wanna Cry 4:47
4 Someday 4:06
5 Vanishing 4:11
6 All In Your Mind 4:43
7 Alone In Love 4:11
8 You Need Me 3:51
9 Sent From Up Above 4:05
10 Prisoner 4:22
11 Love Takes Time 3:48

Mariah Carey – vocals, background vocals
Ben Margulies – drums, keyboards, programming
Narada Michael Walden – drums
Ren Klyce – Linn drums, Fairlight programming
Joe Franco – drums, percussion, drum programming
Ric Wake – drum programming
Omar Hakim – drums
Jimmy Rip, David Williams, Michael Landau, Vernon Reid, Nile Rodgers – guitars
Chris Camozzi – acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Rhett Lawrence – keyboards
Louis Biancaniello – keyboards, bass, programming, rhythm programming
Richard Tee – piano
Marcus Miller – bass
Walter Afanasieff – synth horns, keyboards, synthesizers, synth bass
Billy T. Scott, The Billy T. Scott Emsemble, Fonzie Thornton – background vocals