Mack Avenue SuperBand – Live from the Detroit Jazz Festival 2015 (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mack Avenue SuperBand – Live from the Detroit Jazz Festival 2015 (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 53:42 minutes | 671 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front cover | © Mack Avenue Records

Since its rollicking debut at the 2012 Detroit Jazz Festival, the Mack Avenue SuperBand has become a tradition at the annual event, a gathering of label superstars that the Motor City can look forward to every Labor Day weekend.

This iteration of the “Superband” fulfils all the promise that the names attached to the project impart. With the exception of “Test Of Time” by Makoto Ozone, the remaining numbers were all composed by members of the band, starting with “Preach Hank!” by tenor saxophonist Kirk Whalum. In a nod to the great R&B saxophonist Hank Crawford, the band gives soulful reading of the number, with the composer Whalum rocking out his solo and trumpeter Freddie Hendrix filling the air with his high notes. All of the band members take a piece of the action with exuberance.

01 – Preach Hank!
02 – Introduction to Sudden Impact
03 – Sudden Impact
04 – Introduction to Paint Brushes
05 – Paint Brushes
06 – Introduction to All You Have to Be Is You
07 – All You Have to Be Is You
08 – Introduction to Decisive Steps
09 – Decisive Steps
10 – Introduction to Test of Time
11 – Test of Time
12 – Introduction to Up!
13 – Up!

Carl Allen – drums
Gary Burton – vibes
Tia Fuller – alto & soprano sax
Freddie Hendrix – trumpet
Christian McBride – acoustic bass
Christian Sands – piano
Kirk Whalum – tenor sax