M.C. Hammer – Too Legit To Quit (1991/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

M.C. Hammer – Too Legit To Quit (1991/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 01:10:44 minutes | 2,71 GB | Genre: Rap, Hip-Hop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Capitol Records

Too Legit to Quit is the fourth studio album by Hammer, released on October 29, 1991 by Capitol Records and EMI Records. The album, also produced by Felton Pilate, has been certified silver in the UK by the BPI and triple platinum in the US by the RIAA. The album managed to sell more than 5 million copies.

The marketing campaign for Too Legit To Quit was the largest in the history of Capitol Records at the time, as the label invested $1 million in advertising and the multimillion dollar music video for the title track remains one of the most expensive ever made.

With his third album, Too Legit to Quit, Hammer dropped the “MC” from his name, but didn’t undergo any major changes musically. Indeed, Legit provided a heavy dose of the thing that made Please Hammer, Don’t Hurt Em so successful: likeable, fun pop-rap that appealed to mainstream Top 40 audiences more than the hood. For a few years, Hammer almost seemed to be the Michael Jackson of rap. Although it fell short of Please Hammer’s artistic and commercial success, Legit definitely had its share of inviting hits, including “This Is the Way We Roll” and the title song. While Hammer hasn’t always been the most challenging artist in the world, the Oakland native has some noteworthy social commentary in “Living in a World Like This” and “Brothers Hang On” — both of which are disturbing commentaries on the harsh realities of ghetto life. – Alex Henderson

1. M.C. Hammer – This Is The Way We Roll
2. M.C. Hammer – Brothers Hang On
3. M.C. Hammer – 2 Legit 2 Quit
4. M.C. Hammer – Living In A World Like This
5. M.C. Hammer – Tell Me
6. M.C. Hammer – Releasing Some Pressure
7. M.C. Hammer – Find Yourself A Friend
8. M.C. Hammer – Count It Off
9. M.C. Hammer – Good To Go
10. Felton Pilate II – Lovehold
11. M.C. Hammer – Street Soldiers
12. M.C. Hammer – Do Not Pass Me By
13. M.C. Hammer – Gaining Momentum